Why Not? Homeschool….

Why not? I wanted badly to begin writing my testimony today. My brand new laptop – a gift from my wonderful hubby – I thought – what better “first” to use it for than to share with others my journey to Christ. After all it was a gift for my born again birthday – February 14th – 2010 – born again – washed in the blood of Christ – filled with the Holy Ghost – Speaking in tongues – Worshipping in Spirit and in Truth.

I digress…As I was about to begin I saw an email from a local acquaintance looking to get insight as to why I homeschool my children. Hmmm, I have always known I would. Even before I was born again I knew the schools were no place for a child. I knew that it was wrong, not just from a Biblical perspective either. My children were not going to be imprisoned for hours each day – I would not have them fed misinformation; no the indoctrination agenda was not going to be a part of my children’s childhood.  I will not have my child fed lies by the liberal agenda and unions that run the “schools”. I will not have my children treated as a number. I will not risk them being “left behind”.

Then I was born again. Then homeschool took on a whole new meaning for me. His word was alive – it had all the answers. It made sense.  His word speaks very strongly on how we are to raise our children.  I firmly believe that the Lord is very serious when He says that parents are to “train up a child…”   The secular world is very different from that which the Lord wants us to be a part of. Within the schools our children are attacked on all fronts- confronted with gangs, bullies, drugs, misinformation, poor educational standards and a lack of strong character building and no solid moral grounds.

As a Christian mother I take very seriously the commandments of the Lord – that being said I feel my children need to know Him and be in a place where He and His word are within all that is taught. We need a Biblical Worldview. Of course I also love to learn so that sure helps! 🙂

I want to ensure my children grow up understanding the world around them, and their faith. I need to know that they are able to defend it too, when called upon to do so. By homeschooling I can keep my children with me, being the shepard to them that Jesus is to His disciples. I train my children; we put His word within their hearts, we show them what it means to be a child of God – LIVING and showing His light. We are not just reading and memorizing things, we are learning to apply them. We are gaining a greater understanding of life. We re living.

We have the opportunity for a few years, years that go too quickly, to share and show our children all we can. In those years our children should be our focus for we have been called to train them by our Lord so that they will one day choose to follow Him as well. They are tender in spirit and need to be cared for as Jesus cared for His disciples. To homeschool is a blessing to them and to us. But it can only be done in faith.

When my family made the decision to homeschool, we believe at that moment we stepped out in faith. There was no way we could afford to be a one income family. Those materials were expensive.Virtual school was not an option (virtual school is just public school at home after all; not a choice).  We pondered and prayed; many wonderful materials came my way as we could afford them. And some very precious friends were made who helped us on our way.

We use nothing but Bible-centered curriculum, choosing to put God’s word at the center of ALL things. This does not mean that the other subjects are discarded. However, it does mean that our first objective is to raise godly children in this world, not rocket scientists. It means that as we learn any thing, we re comparing it, seeking His word, on the subject at hand. We are being obedient to His word, testing all things. So that we may give an answer to any one, as to why we believe and know what we do.

“By faith Moses, when he became of age, refused to be called the son of Pharaoh’s daughter, choosing rather to suffer affliction with the people of God than to enjoy the passing pleasures of sin, esteeming the reproach of Christ greater riches than the treasures in Egypt; for he looked to the reward.” Hebrews 11:24-26

God calls us to raise our children up for His service. I believe that children are a blessing from the Lord and that we need to treat them as such. As Christians, our purpose is to glorify and serve God, not ourselves. As we commit our homes to the Lord and sow God’s word into our children, we are confident God will give each of us wisdom and reward those who seek His kingdom first with peace and unity in the home.  Jesus’ last words before He ascended into heaven were ” to make disciples”. As Christian homeschoolers, we need to be obedient to the great commission and “make disciples” of our children. The home is the mission field for me.  It is the only one that matters right now. There is so little time and there is much to learn.  🙂


“But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness and all these things shall be added to you.” Matthew 6:34

 

5 thoughts on “Why Not? Homeschool….

Leave a Reply

