Acceptance of All?

Accept one another, then, just as Christ accepted you, in order to bring praise to God. Romans 15:7

 

romans 157

We all want to be accepted by others. But how many of us truly want to be accepted by our Lord? I think we get confused too often when it comes to this. We strive to please others, consciously or unconsciously, in so many ways. How we dress; the things we say – we are so desperate to make others like us. One minute we are in prayer; deep in His presence and basking in His promises, the net minute we are lamenting to our husband about that other mom at church who didn’t like the cookies we made. We become broken…Why?

Gal 1:10 For do I now persuade men, or God? or do I seek to please men? for if I yet pleased men, I should not be the servant of Christ.

All of us experience a time or two (maybe way more, right??) when we are involved in conversation with someone who is on the other side of an issue – maybe someone like me who is very introverted and thus not that socially adept at times. haha  Some people are hard to respond to; they are smarter than we are; they are less self-concious-stronger in their faith and in who they are. Or maybe they aren’t but they just seem that way on the outside. Too many of us are busy trying to be “pretty” when we should be striving to be holy; to be righteous….Pleasing to Him not them.

I know. We are all supposed to love one another. But does that mean we have to accept each other? We know she smokes secretly. We know he has a drinking problem. That one family, they look pretty poor……There are so many things we allow to get in the way of things. Maybe I want to be accepted; maybe I need to be more accepting. Perhaps they are longing for someone to tell them that they belong; that they are loved. We can be a part of the church and still feel as though we are not accepted.

I am guilty. We all have at one time, forgotten where we came from. I know that I am so very grateful that He saved me, that He saved me, unworthy as I was. Unworthy as I still am. Glory to God that He shows us grace and mercy no matter how wretched we may be. We must remember that; we must hold onto that joy that we had when we were first saved. We are not called to glorify or accept sin, but we are called to love one another. We are called to share the wonderful news, that there is a Lord and Saviour who loves you and wants to save  you. There is something greater for me and you.

We can only share it though if we can show it.

One thought on “Acceptance of All?

Leave a Reply

