Desperate – Are You?

“My kids don’t need to see a supermama. They need to see a mama who needs a Super God. That maybe being the mama I wanted to be wasn’t so much about being more but believing more; believing and trusting more in the God of Hagar and Ruth and Hannah, the God who sees me, who nourishes me, who hears me and answers.”

Sarah Mae & Sally Clarkson. Desperate: Hope for the Mom Who Needs to Breathe (Kindle Locations 215-218). Thomas Nelson.

Some things really are a “God thing”. This book was one of them. I wanted to read this; desperately knew I needed to read this. And then the some unexpected expenses came up – expensive, suddenly. It’s only a book. How can we not afford a book ? We just cannot. 

Bless the Lord, Booksneeze offered it for my kindle, for free, for a review. Bless the Lord. 

I have been feeling desperate Have you? The messes; the brokenness that is me. The trials and tribulations of raising these little ones. And not just raising them, not surviving the 18 years (I actually heard someone refer to parenting as just that; something we must fight to survive `gasp~). Truth time – it’s hard. It’s heart breaking. It is lots of tears. And my, my..so much prayer!

This is such a “need to have” book. The openness, the love and acceptance. The gentle reminders that we are not alone. What mom has not been desperate, fighting for the next breathe, feeling so very alone? It’s all here; blessing us with inspiration and strength. A reminder that He is with us through it all. 

I have to share this for so many reasons. Maybe because it spoke to me so strongly from the very first sentence I read. There is a peace and a purpose, a power within this book. I know there is so much more I can do for my little ones; this is the life changer. This is it. 

I want more than anything for my children to see Jesus, to see that Super God they speak of, as where we turn for all things. May they remember their mom through the years as one who prayed and prayed always – never ceasing, always leaning on and looking to Him in times of need. And always believing and showing faith.

I am going to read this again. And again. I thank both these sweet and nspiring ladies for sharing so openly, their life and their wisdom. Bless them both!

{I was provided with a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review through Booksneeze.}

2 thoughts on “Desperate – Are You?

  1. Sounds like a good one. I’m getting a kindle soon and I just know that as soon as I do, I will not be able to resist buying some new e-books (at least i think that’s what you call them? lol) so I’ll look into this one for sure. Thanks for the review. Sounds like a message I definitely need to hear too.

    1. Enjoy! I love my kindle and have found some wonderful e-books, mostly free, to fill it with too! 🙂
      In fact most of the books we use for our home school were free for the kindle. WHen you get

Leave a Reply

