Trust Him; Train them

Sons are a heritage from the Lord, children a reward from him. Psalm 127:3

ps 1273

I watch my children. My oldest practices his verses for his Bible Quizzing tournament next weekend. I watch as he recites his verses – with gusto, so enthusiastic, so full of joy – And then he makes a mistake. His face crumples and he is instantly deflated. My oldest is what I call my faith child. SO headstrong and stubborn, so independent, so determined in so many ways. Trusting the Lord as I walk with him πŸ™‚

He knows well over a hundred verses by heart. That is so much more than the rest of us. I tell m oldest all the time how amazing that is. No doubt he is blessed for all the work he does learning God’s word.

Last year he mastered all of his verses and made it to the national tournament This year that may not happen. It’s challenging him; he has to work harder; study and practice a bit more than before. I admit I enjoy the times when he comes to me seeking my help. Or the days when I find him teaching his younger brother the verses….I can hear them while I make dinner, “Alex recite after me….now it’s your turn…red 1…that is incorrect…”

I love hearing Gods word and really there is no greater way to hear it than from the mouth of a child. There is a bit more power there; you feel His presence. It’s in their hearts and they know it. No doubt, no questioning anything. God said it and He meant it. πŸ™‚

Yet the joy that comes from doing so well is tempered by the frustration of learning new verses. There are challenges. And sometimes he gets them wrong. Sometimes someone else knows more, or is better, in a book or chapter.

This is where the challenge comes in. Teaching our on to love the Lord’s word regardless; to do his best and to continue to study and learn no matter the challenges that come his way. It’s never about the ribbons and trophies rather its about learning His word and living His word.

Proverbs 22:6: β€œTrain up a child in the way he should go: and when he is old, he will not depart from it.” Being a mother, its the hardest job I have ever had Watching my son learn and grow; allowing mistakes to be made and tears to fall. Learning how and when to offer comfort and when to offer wisdom – Sometimes knowing that its not the time for me to provide either.

They row so quickly. One day they are a little snuggly bundle of joy who needs you at all ties; and then in the blink of an eye they just want to do it themselves. In the words of my fits born “I am big now mom; I can do it…” sigh It reminds me that I must spend MORE time training them; observing them. Guiding them and praying for them.

Isaiah 40:30-31: Even youths grow tired and weary, and young men stumble and fall;
but those who hope in the LORD will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.

May my little ones grow strong in the Lord; knowing Him as their strength and the rock to which they cling. I pray daily that they shall grow to soar as the eagles do; to do greater things for the Lord and to trust in Him no matter how weary they may be. All for the glory of God.

Leave a Reply

