Numbered Days

Teach us to number our days aright, that we may gain a heart of wisdom. Psalm 90:12

Image

I have a ot of habits….some good,some not so good. All are things that I feel some kind of need to hold on to. I need a cup of coffee first thing each morning; I need to start my day in the Lord’s book…..I just need to. Good habit.

Then there are those habits that are not so good. I need a clean sink every morning; I need clean floors. Sometimes this comes at the expense of what could have been a morning of books or games wth my little ones. Bad habit.

He knows the days that are before us. What each day holds. When our last day shall be.

We must be wise. We must be gracious. We must let every moment inspire us to see all that is the awesomeness of His creation.

I fear too often I get caught up in those mundane tasks; those things that we must do but that we must remember not to take too seriously.

So the floor is a bit sticky. SO the dishes are piled up in the sink. There is time for that later.

Maybe the laundry is piling up….Maybe the countertops are sticky ….

But these little ones are only little for so long…….They are only ours for so long and we know not how long that is.

Really. Our days are numbered but that should not be a bad thing. Let us remember and rejoice in those days we are so blessed to have.

And let us remember to hold all things in their place; temper each habit, each routine with the grace and wisdom of God.

 

The right thing to do with habits is to lose them in the life of the Lord, until every habit is so practiced that there is no conscious habit at all. Our spiritual life continually resolves into introspection, because there are some qualities we have not added yet…Watch how your Father will upset those times if you begin to worship your habit instead of what the habit symbolizes – ‘I can’t do that right now, I am praying; it is my hour with God.’ No, it is the hour with your habit…Recognize the defect and then look for the opportunity of exercising yourself along the line of the quality to be added.”

Leave a Reply

