T.R.I.P.-Update #1

I recently posted about a new reading program we were given the chance to review.  T.R.I.P. stands for ‘Targeted Reading Improvement Program’. The T.R.I.P. CD-Rom contains step-by-step reading lessons. The video shows you how to run the program, and manage the 20 lessons within. Each lesson has three parts: Word Lists, Flash Practice, and Story Cards.  We only done this twice so far but the story cards have been lots of fun for us all so far!

The lessons took about a half hour, and the words were very easy for my son to read.  I admit to being a bit disappointed there wasn’t more of a challenge for him as we started out.  The words will get harder as we go along, so I am hoping it’s good for him to be able to really feel the success in the first few lessons.  The flash practice-was a piece of cake for him. We had to advance it though since his attention doesn’t hold for very long but once they were sped up he got a kick out of the “race”.

So far I am impressed with the program so far and excited to see how my son will progress with it; especially as it becomes more difficult.  I am hopeful this will not only bring more excitement and love to reading for him but also will benefit his skills. 

*Disclosure: I received this program free of charge as part of the CWA Review Crew. All opinions are my own.

Image

 

 

Leave a Reply

