Are you Joy Ful?

 

“Joyful are people of integrity,
    who follow the instructions of the Lord.
Joyful are those who obey his laws
    and search for him with all their hearts.
They do not compromise with evil,
    and they walk only in his paths.” Psalm 119:1-3

 

“I don’t want to…”  He wails at me – loud, ear splitting. I am tired and losing patience. We are not happy. There is no joy here as of late. My three year old with his sweet chubby cheeks and sparkly eye, his pale silky hair and adorable grim, has turned on me. Whatever he wants ad does not get turns him from a treat to a terror. I mean it.

And it drains the joy right out of us all some days. I do not have patience (many think I do because I homeschool – I just credit my God – He’s got the power!) Patience is not my strong suit  however it is even less so for my husband. It’s a balance trying to keep my little “sweetpea” and my husband from one another some days lately.

I want that joy. I want it back. WHen did I allow my son to take it from me? How do I help the rest of my family to embrace and share in that joy? We are saved, sanctified, Holy Ghost filled, water baptised…..You would not know it some days though. And that brings me sorrow.

If we walk in His ways; we keep His judgements and do them; so shall we have the joy of the Lord.

What are we missing? What shall we do?

We shall praise Him – we shall seek Him. My 7 year old started a blessing box recently. His job is to count his blessings whenever he is feeling wronged, whenever he is wanting more than he needs or just has a bad attitiude.  It’s a great reminder for him that there are so many things to be thankful for. Methinks its time to begin this with my three year old as well. And perhaps if we all count our blessings together we can rekindle that joy of the Lord.

We are the BIble to someone; whenever we go, wherever we may be, someone sees. I know I want to be that witness that turns them TO Him, not from Him.

Glory !!

Image

Leave a Reply

