And the T.R.I.P is Completed

Watch out……coming in for a landing……

trip banner

Can you believe it? We have reached the end of our journey with the Targeted Reading Improvement Program, also known as, T.R.I.P. Well, maybe not the end…:)

For those who are not famiiar with the program, here’s aquick recap:

TRIP was created by Walter C. Waid and Jordan H. Price, teachers with a combined total of 40 years experience working with special needs, ADD, ADHD, Dyslexic, and special ed students. They received their degrees and teaching credentials from California State University Long Beach and Fullerton California, respectively.

TRIP Contains 20 lessons. Each lesson consists of 3 parts. Plus A How to To Instructional Video With Step-By-Step Teaching Instructions.

There are three parts to each lesson. All of the materials and instruction are simple and concise. An easy program to follow for most any age and level.

Each lesson begins with a word list. We used these mostly for spelling and some dictation during the days since my son really mastered this part of the program. If there was one thing I would have liked to have seen, it would have been for there to be a bit more variety here; maybe a couple different levels. Either way my son breezed through this part of each lesson and that did please him quite a bit.

The lesson then moves on to the flash practice. Here there are three speeds for the student to choose from. They are then shown, flashed, numbers, letters, symbols or shapes which they need to copy. We stuck mostly with the intermediate and advanced speeds; this is excellent for encouraging focus and attention. My son, being rather artistic, had some issues with following direction in this area, he liked to embellish on the “design” he was given, so there were some challenges there (unexpectedly) with following directions. We made it!

The third part is the story card. These were a bit of a disappointment for my son. Since he reads, voraciously, the stories were a bit sipler than we hoped for. But each story had a list of words and we used these for spelling and for handwriting practice. My son read each story aloud, answering the questions at the end of the wordksheets and then retelling the story (narrating) to make sure he got it.

Overall this was a fun and worthy experience for all of us! I do believe that this will be an excellent tool when my other children are ready to “learn to read” as well. This is a simple program that anyone can run and its a great way to determine your child’s skill level in reading too. I really lived the variety of ways I could use this. From spelling, to grammar, handwriting and reading you can really get creative with this. And again the flash practice is a really great tool for practicing focus and attention, and it even gave us the chance to work on how to follow directions.

This was fun! It was different. My son looked forward to each lesson and that does not happen often. I can definitely encourage others to look into this; if there are reading troubles in their midst, perhaps this is the answer that they too need.

Disclosure: I received a free copy of this program to review. I was not required to write a positive review nor was I compensated in any other way. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the FTC Regulations. I am part of The CWA Review Crew.

Leave a Reply

