Are you Full?

Philippians 4:11-12: I have learned in whatsoever state I am, therewith to be content. I know both how to be abased, and I know how to abound: every where and in all things I am instructed both to be full and to be hungry, both to abound and to suffer need.

Why i it so difficult to be content with what we have ? Why is it so many are always seeking bigger and better? It seem some folks can never have enough. How can we “be full” for the glory of God?

In 1675 it was written by Rev. Burroughs writes, “A Christian is taught by God to know how to be full.” He continues, “There are many who would gladly hear a lesson on how they could obtain fullness, but they do not consider it as necessary to learn how to sanctify God in their fullness.
If I could preach a sermon or two on how you could supply your wants and how you could obtain wealth, I have no question that our church would be filled with people.
This would be the case if I were to teach poor people how they could get rich, or teach those who are disgraced how they could get honor, and the like.
But, I am teaching you a lesson from God rather than man, and that is much better.
It is a better lesson for one to learn how to honor God in fullness than to learn how to get full.”

How true it is, even more, today! We need to learn how to prosper and yet be content. I do believe we need to spend more time in prayer; seeking from Him, how we may be full for His glory.

This was a wonderful addition to my ibrary – something I believe we all need to understand more. In a world that says we can never have enough we need the truth that much more today. He is the only one who can fill us full – He is all we need. As for all that we have, does not every good gift come from above? And as stewards of thee “things” should we not be sure that we use them, evermore, to glorify Him and to further.

No truer words have been spoken than: I must decrease that He may increase.

Contentment, Prosperity and God’s Glory is a treasure that everyone should read; take your time and approach it in prayer. There are amazing truths here we should all seek to live out.

Disclosure of Material Connection- I received Contentment, Prosperity, and God’s Glory by Jeremiah Burroughs for free from Cross Focused Reviews. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

2 thoughts on “Are you Full?

Leave a Reply

