We have all wondered at some time

We have all wondered at some time – what is Heaven like? What will we experience in the “afterlife”? While I tend to be wary of indulging too much in materials that speak (outside of the Bible’s authority) on what happens next; I was curious enough to take a chance and review The Gate when I was given the opportunity.

The description says: When an ad for a vacation cottage catches the eye of a man on the edge of burnout, he impulsively sets off to visit the property while his wife and daughters are away. When he arrives and is ushered through the gate, he finds something far different from the typical vacation retreat. In fact, it seems he may have found the back door to heaven. The proprietor and people from his past welcome him with food, rest, and conversation until what started out as a little escape from everyday life turns into an experience he will never forget.

So let me say while I loved the writing and the concept of this book, I was torn truly. Much like The Shack this is a sweet, inspiring tale sure to bring a peace and comfort to one in need. However, as in The Shack, I fear the liberties taken, representing our Lord and Savior can be very dangerou to one’s salvation.

I have been told many time now that I need to read fiction as fiction and apologetics as apologetics but I do believe that there are some things we need to just trust God in. Its about showing faith. All that we need to know is within His word. The Bible is the only source we need. If we need to know, it’s in there 🙂

That said, this could be a wonderful read for someone in need of comfort; someone who is in the eye of the storm BUT we must remember that this is fiction. We need to be wise and discerning testing all things. As it is written: Give therefore thy servant an understanding heart to judge thy people, that I may discern between good and bad: for who is able to judge this thy so great a people?- I Kings 3:9


I received a complimentary copy of this book from Revell for this review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

Leave a Reply

