Love Thy Neighbor

Matthew 7:12. “Therefore, whatever you want men to do to you, do also to them, for this is the Law and the Prophets.”

Ouch! I have been a bit testy lately. I threw out my back last night and while everyone knows that I am in pain – no one seems to be slowing down for me. Imagine that. It isn’t all about me.

Yet I pout – I whine. It hurts so why am I still digging in the garden, loading and unloading the dishwasher…Surely someone hears my cry and is willing to do this for me.

What would I do if the roles were reversed? Ouch …. Again …

I’ve been busted. I admit it – that German upbringing – I have not completely shaken it, I am more likely to tell people to “shake it off” or to “get over it ” And while I am admitting my dark ssecrets – I have more than once told my dear husband when he is sick and in bed (asking for something from me) that he now knows “how I feel when I am sick and unable to rest”>
Who is showing love? Who do I love? Who do you love?
And does it show?

A little later in Matthew (22:37), this is brought up again with even stronger language, just so we don’t miss the point THIS time:

“Jesus replied: “‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.’ This is the first and greatest commandment. And the second is like it: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’”

Do I love my neighbor? Do I love myself? My husband? And children?

Of course, unequivocally, YES I love them

How do I show it? Neighbor does not have to be the folks in the house next door who we begrudgingly wave to now and then (you have one or two right; you see them first you dive behind the bush? lol) Thinking on this…Whos to blame when the family is coming apart at the seams? Who gets the glory when the family is joyfully united, in one accord?

Love is so simple. But I forget to show it. Lately I forget a lot. My son always says (a couple times a day) “I love yu mom and you’re the best mom I ever had”. Is refreshing – its inspiring I need to share with him out of the blue now and then too that he is “the best Tyler I have ever had.” He knows he is loved. Do others know that they too are loved?

So many things that keep me busy. Our kitchen, newly remodeled, trying to keep it nice. Our old kitchen – trying to manage it as best I can (its a terrible eyesore right now) We are broke. But we have enough (thank you Jesus) Our furnace went out; ; and its still cold here in WI but we have friends who loaned us space-heaters to keep us warm and get us by.

They will know His children by their fruits. DO I show love? DO I show control, calm and peace – one that only HIs children can have? I want to – I want to show and share it all the time. In every moment. In every season.

I know who I love – I need to remember to share with those others the love I feel for them. For no reason. Just for the sake of loving them. 🙂

SO I ask you – who do you love?

Leave a Reply

