Bread & Wine

I can safely say that I have never read a book that inspires me to cook (aside fom cookbooks of course) With three finicky eaters too, in our house, cooking is something that I love and dread, all at the same time. Either way, Bread and Wine – I was eager, when given the chance, to review something new. And different.

In the words of Shauna , “God knows more than I know, that he sees what I can’t, that he’s weaving a future I can’t even imagine from where I sit this morning.”

Wise words within – inspiring on so many levels. This made me contemplate how food can be that much more. A show of love; a way to heal and comfort those in need. Food can be a tool for fellowship; for building community and relationships.

A great discussion guide comes with this – if only I knew enough people that we could come together for this – cook and share. Indulge together in both the memoirs and the recipes within. I truly believe there is much we can learn and the simple, honest, down to earth way this is writtten makes it amazingly easy to relate to so much of the tales told within.

On so many levels this is a lovely book; an inspirational tearful and giggle filled read. One to keep in the kitchen or in the living room. Good any time, any where.

“My prayer is that you’ll read these pages first curled up on your couch or in bed or in the bathtub, and then after that you’ll bring it to the kitchen with you, turning corners of pages, breaking the spine, spilling red wine on it and splashing vinegar across the pages, that it will become battered and stained as you cook and chop and play, music loud and kitchen messy.
And more than anything, I hope that when you put this book down, you’ll gather the people you love around your table to eat and drink, to tell stories, to be heard and fed and nourished on every level.”

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255

Leave a Reply

