On the Tilt-A-Whirl

I am not much for rides. I like my feet firmly planted on the ground. It is safe to say that I prefer my life to be much the same. No tilting and whirling for me. Not that what I want matters in this case. Daily, I am shown that a simple, and peaceful life, is not for me. Not if I am following Him.

I have been reading Notes from the Tilt-A-Whirl. My oldest son, Tyler, loves that ride. It makes me sick just watching. haha. But again I am not one for rides. I like to think I am the sensible one. πŸ˜› This is a wonderful read to remind us that “This world is beautiful but badly broken. ”

As I have read, I have pondered, as did the author, what kind of place is this? And what is it? It is His creation. Of course. He created it for His pleasure; for His glory. Yet we look around and every day it seems more and more broken.

It is often uncomfortable. Unsettling. To look and to see, really see, Him, in all of the mess. He says in one chapter, “this olive, that I now eat….on some level, made out of some thing that was…..not made from any thing…” Does His word not confirm …not made from anything….. Chew on that thought for a while. We can apply it too, to so much more.

This is pure deep though – its a mix of philosophy, theology, humour, history…I was very pleasantly surprised really at how profound some of this is. This goes to show through the author’s ramblings; his run on sentences and sometimes totally unrelated tales within this book – it all comes together. Just as all things were created by Him, for Him ~ All things work together for the glory of God. Its a stretch in some cases; but one that definitely leaves you thinking, and amazing, at those things around you. Creation. At its best. Always.

This read does remind me of the tilt-a-whirl – it goes and sometimes you want it to stop and other times you don’t. Either way in certain parts, when he does finally come to a stop – you are left breathless. Gasping, and maybe a bit confused and dizzy. I personally enjoy a good deep thoughts headache now and again. πŸ™‚

I received this book free from BookSneeze bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

One thought on “On the Tilt-A-Whirl

Leave a Reply

