Where Shall they Go?

It’s almost time for us to start our schooling again. This is not something I take lightly. Of the many reasons we homeschool, there is no reason that stands out more that Proverbs 22:6. We are to “train up a child in the way they should go….”

As I have been praying and reading and seeking His guidance in our journey, I have read a number of materials that are helping to strengthen my vision. Called Home is the first, and one of my favorite reads when it comes to homeschool. Simple and honest; chock full of truth and scripture ~ its not sugar coated. Its honest. WE are to school our children in ALL things. None else. It does not take a village. It takes an awesome God ~ Just one. So long as is the ONE true God.

I also closely studied Classical Conversations; this teaches a form of education based in the traditions of Western culture, with a particular focus on education as understood and taught in the Middle Ages. This process heavily uses the three stages of the trivium—grammar, logic and rhetoric—as tools by which a student can then analyze and master every other subject. Of course it keeps all things seen through a Biblical worldview. I was almost sure this was “the plan” for the coming year. As always, God has His ways. I blogged previously about how a group of ladies was found in our area – I was sure this was a God thing – looking back … I was given much information from a dear friend about the lack of Biblical truth; the confusion of their founder “Dorothy Sayers”. It got spotty and I can see, looking back, that this is an excellent method but as with all things, not one to be held in too high of regard. It took time for me to be willing to see, but He has been with me, waiting. And I see- I have better than any method or group out there – I have the Holy Ghost; I have His truth and His word. All else pales in comparison.

We have our plan for the year. We shall follow Him. Its that simple. It really is.
But there are many out there who are getting ready to send their children off to the schools. Why? It troubles me, breaks my heart. Every year. I can only imagine….Why? Bring them home mommas. If you really believe it is not so bad? I pray you read, soon, Indoctrination, by Colin Gunn. It is a sad (maybe shocking for many even) truth of the sorry state of our schools; the deception and the lies that are being fed. From its very first page that starts out quoting the father who lost his son in the Columbine school massacre – “I put him in a pagan school where they teach there is no God.” Look behind the comfortable myths of an educational system actively at work to alter your child’s moral values, worldview, and religious beliefs. Learn the history and philosophy of public school education — and discover it is based on neither Christian nor American values. Explore the biblical principles regarding education — and who is ultimately responsible for our children’s future.” (From New Leaf Publishing Group Website)

There is so much wonderful information within this one book alone. I cannot say enough how important it is for us, as parents, to have all the facts. Yes, the good and the bad and the ugly. Sadly there is more bad and ugly to be seen in the schools than good. But perhaps we can see this as our chance to glorify God; putting our faith in Him as we bring our children home. Where they belong. To be trained; as He commands.

Let’s face it; things are not going to get better. And if we want to see our children live and and for the faith ~ we need to do something radically different. Back to the basics. Where have all the strong and brave and firmly rooted men and women have gone? They went to school 😦

I want for my children, as we begin another year together, I want for them to know their need, for a Lord and Saviour. I want them to see and understand His word and all that is within. I pray that they will use it in ALL things, to bring His name and His light, to those in need. I Cannot lie – some days I am just a wee bit “jealous” of those yellow bus parents (yesterday was HARD) but when I see my oldest praying on his knees and my little ones playing sweetly together praying “in Jesus name..” It’s worth it.

Things are hard. Children, parenting, home making – its hard. Seems impossible to me some days. But “something wicked this way comes…” As moms we should be, we must be, home to guard our children and our homes – to keep safe our families – to keep His word and His ways at the center of everything. Not this or that. Everything. We cannot be all He calls us to be if we are away for so long. Each day.

Its the world or His world. Our children will go to one or the other. Let us follow His word that we may keep them in His ways

Leave a Reply

