Just a Lil Leaven

1 Cor 5:6 Your glorying is not good. Know ye not that a little leaven leaveneth the whole lump?

We all have, at some time, leaven. Within or without. There is a time we need to recognize it for what it is. And it needs to go.

My in-laws have never been easy to get along with My husband thought that once his mother and father got into the church and were born again things would be different but – It takes more. We are not just washed in the water and made new. We must “work” that we will continue to grow. And bear those fruits which show Him in us.

All they seem to show is a desire to cause division; they are given a nice new cell phone – they are blessed with holistic health products – yet still they complain. I do not think I have ever heard a good word come from them. Not once.

My husband tells me this morning talking to his mother the other day her and my brother in law were lamenting on how “our children are robbed of their childhood”. We home educate them; we do not partake n Halloween or any of those other pagan days…Somehow all of this makes us terrible parents in their eyes; our children are too sheltered. They are “weird” and “unsocialized”. I have to laugh but my husband – this breaks his heart- cuts him to the core that his family can treat him this way.

They have never liked me but before “this Jesus thing” came along (their words not mine) life was fun and they all got along so well together. The sad thing is not one of them can explain what we believe. Not one of them can define home education or faith. And not once have I heard any one of them utter the name Jesus in any conversation or holiday gathering. 😦

I expect this kind of thing. I let it roll off my back. I see it as the Lord showing us where the leaven is in our lives. And giving us the opportunity to remove it as we see fit. We cannot let leaven spoil us. We cannot allow it to be cause to deviate from our path.

Does He not say Himself: 34 Think not that I am come to send peace on earth: I came not to send peace, but a sword.

We cannot expect too much of those on the outside. We can only seek to share our truth with them. But when they refuse to hear; when they choose to remain blind….At some point we must throw out that leaven. Lest it spoil our walk with the Lord.

Luke 4:24 And he said, Verily I say unto you, No prophet is accepted in his own country.

There will always be those who see that we are changed and choose to see it as something other than a blessing. There will be family and friends who will lament about how we have changed; the differences that separate us from them. I have heard from old friends myself “Gone are the days…..”

We are called to be different. We are called to be set apart. We cannot do that when we see the leaven and refuse to dispose of it. Narrow is the way …. few there be that find it.

One thought on “Just a Lil Leaven

Leave a Reply

