Who Cares?

“And he was in the hinder part of the ship, asleep on a pillow: and they awake him, and say unto him, Master, carest thou not that we perish?” (Mark 4:38)

I heard someone say, one dear to my heart, “whatever God doesn’t care…”

How I wish I had more to say at that moment than what I said. “Of course He cares…”
Of course, there was no lightbulb – there was no moment of joy and excitement hearing that He cares. IN a time of struggling and feeling lost and alone and broken beyond repair….How could those words be of any difference to someone who does not know Him and His promises?

I came home and read the scripture above. I pondered how His disciples walking and talking and being with Him ALL the time…Could say the very same thing? I guess I like to think that God right in front of me would make all my doubts and hesitations and fears just disappear. Lightbulb 🙂

We have to be real. Sure we have to show others His word; share what He says with those who are in need of Him. But what about being true to them too? I have heard (and been shocked to hear it too!) that I am intimidating to others. Because I minister at home and online, home educate our kids, etc etc…..Why is what I do something that intimidates those who could (Maybe should) do just that? 🙂

He says to us all: “Said I not unto thee, that, if thou wouldest believe, thou shouldest see the glory of God?” (John 11:40).

We must believe. Even when we doubt that He cares; even as He tests our faith and sends trials our way; we must not doubt. His promises are ours; we must only take hold of them. Its hard though. Following Him is messy. We cannot hide that. I myself have found too often that there is an image people have of me, or my family that is in desperate need of truth.

Are we showing others His glory in us? Are we sharing with folks Our truth? Our testimony? Or are there friends and family (In the faith or out of it) whose perception is in need of correction? Surely it is good for people to see joy and truth; holiness and righteousness in us. But do we point them to Him as the reason? Or do we give them reason to turn from Him because what we have is so very unattainable, to them?

Someone needs to know we were in the dark and are now in the light. And they need to know that He brought us out. We did not do it ourselves; He did it in and through us. Make it real. Keep it real. Because it sounds hard. It seems impossible. If we do not have and know Him and His promises.

Let us remember and hold fast to His truth knowing “that the trial of your faith . . . though it be tried with fire, might be found unto praise and honour and glory at the appearing of Jesus Christ”

Leave a Reply

