Words

Yikes!! 2014 is coming….just around the corner! ~sigh~

In the new year I need to focus not just on His word but on my own too. As the year progresses I shall pray and seek His wisdom when it comes to words in my life. The power of life and death is in the tongue, the words it speaks, I pray mine can glorify my Father this year, showing the salt and light I am called to be. I admit, I can be someone of few words. But other times, those words – no matter how few – are not so glorifying to Christ. I consider myself to be sold out, all for and to Jesus. Desperate to show and share how amazing and life changing He can be to those in need. But this requires me to remember that I was not always where I am today. Patience, love, words properly seasoned. And lots of love.

So I dedicate my coming year not just to Jesus but to Words. My words; my family’s word. I want to know that all that comes from my tongue is pleasing to my Lord and Savior. Shouldn’t that be the way we do all things? All the time? There is so much that we can do to honour His Kingdom – to increase it – to make it shine. Really shine. In a way that makes people see us and desperately, with no doubt, want what we have. I want that. And I want to have the Words I need to share it. To me that means a couple things. I need to be still; I need to listen. Really listen. I need to pause. Not just respond to things in a quick and studious way, but in a way that is real. With words that are tangible and show truth and experience. My experience and His truth. Its a start.

Let every person be quick to listen, slow to speak, slow to anger. 20 For human anger does not accomplish God’s righteousness. . . 26 If someone thinks he is religious yet does not bridle his tongue, and so deceives his heart, his religion is futile. 27 Pure and undefiled religion before God the Father is this: to care for orphans and widows in their misfortune and to keep oneself unstained by the world (James 1:19-20, 26-27, ).27

I want to be truly and totally and completely free. Free of that anger; free from the burden of the tongue. After all how can I share and show others His love and forgiveness; His grace and mercy otherwise?

12 Speak and act as those who will be judged by a law that gives freedom. . . 14 What good is it, my brothers and sisters, if someone claims to have faith but does not have works? Can this kind of faith save him? 15 If a brother or sister is poorly clothed and lacks daily food, 16 and one of you says to them, “Go in peace, keep warm and eat well,” but you do not give them what the body needs, what good is it? (James 2:12, 14-16)

Let my life, my words be one more thing that shows Jesus in my life; in my family’s life. Slow to speak …. Reminds me of how my son’s Bible Quiz coach tells them that in tournaments, when they buzz in to answer, before they say anything they should pause and count…one banana, two banana, three banana … then speak. Slow to speak. Time for His presence to come; a moment for Him to place those words upon our tongue.

If someone does not stumble in what he says, he is a perfect individual, able to control the entire body as well. 3 And if we put bits into the mouths of horses to get them to obey us, then we guide their entire bodies. 4 Look at ships too: though they are so large and driven by harsh winds, they are steered by a tiny rudder wherever the pilot’s impulse directs.31

We can say we love Him; we can go to church every chance we get; we can read our Bibles and pray every day but what does that matter if our life, if our words, do not match up? There cannot be a disconnect. We are known by our fruits. SO much power in words, in the tongue, and I shall continue to study not just the tongue but the words. The words that give life.

 

One thought on “Words

Leave a Reply

