Serving them

I know we are *commanded* to serve; oh how hard this is for me lately. I heard someone say once that you can see someone’s heart by watching. Who do they serve first? Themselves or another? Many days I watch and it saddens me how seldom I see anyone else looking towards the needs of another before their own.

Mark 10:44-45 – And whosoever of you will be the chiefest, shall be servant of all. For even the Son of man came not to be ministered unto, but to minister, and to give his life a ransom for many.

I was an only child growing up. Maybe that is one of the things that makes it so hard for me to understand how, even my husband, can be so oblivious to the needs around him. Dirty dishes, clean dishwasher full of dishes, kids needing a meal or a diaper….Not in his world. It saddens me that he does not see how the lack of actions on his part, are an example to the children; making my life that much harder. Little eyes see; we must be mindful of not just what we say but what we do too.

1 John 3:18 My little children, let us not love in word, neither in tongue; but in deed and in truth.

For myself I have to seek that joy, continue to serve anyway. Even when everyone else is playing their games and watching their show and I am fighting to find the house in the mess that is not mine…I need that joyful spirit, I need to remind myself that His eyes see. He knows and I need to do it for Him (I tell my oldest all the time, when there are things you don’t want to do, just do them for Him). It makes a difference. In his days. Why not in mine too? Let us show the love.

2 Chronicles 15:7  Be ye strong therefore, and let not your hands be weak: for your work shall be rewarded.

There is something to be said for serving. I learn more and more, in each opportunity that comes my way, the art that it is. The dedication and heart that it takes. Especially in those times when it is the last thing you want to do. When I have done enough laundry, scrubbed enough floors, when I have cooked and cleaned for everyone and I ache and am tired….I continue, maybe not in the best of spirits all the time (I grumble, I may holler a bit at those sitting idle) but even in my *thankless* moments I remember that it is His approval I need to seek. Not man. Not my family, not my friends. Just His.

When we struggle; when we feel left out and alone and out of place; frustrated and worn and unappreciated… let us remember His word:
” I am thy shield, and thy exceeding great reward. ..”

Leave a Reply

