Immediately!

Matthew 4:18-22 (KJV) And Jesus, walking by the sea of Galilee, saw two brethren, Simon called Peter, and Andrew his brother, casting a net into the sea: for they were fishers. And he saith unto them, Follow me, and I will make you fishers of men. And they straightway left their nets, and followed him. And going on from thence, he saw other two brethren, James the son of Zebedee, and John his brother, in a ship with Zebedee their father, mending their nets; and he called them. And they immediately left the ship and their father, and followed him.

Do you notice the wording? When He called there was no hesitation. Straightaway they left their nets; their things and their family and friends. Left behind. He called and immediately they followed Him. They were not concerned about those they were leaving; they did not wait and ponder if they should go or not. They were not concerned with their things or what the world would think of them. They went, not looking back. Following Jesus. Let us hear His call and follow as they did. Immediately. Without reserve.

It’s hard to imagine. As a friend brought up in a discussion about this very thing, how did they know? They surely were not learned men. Certainly they had no real training in the scriptures and yet when He called them, there was no questioning whether or not to follow Him. Nothing mattered but going where He went.

I have been wrestling with some things lately. Some hard things. Matters of the heart; folks who are close to me and who, I fear, are not walking as they should be and showing His love and light. Perhaps there needs to be a gentle rebuke; sadly I fear my words would fall on deaf ears. And so I pray right now for Him to give me words that will show His love and to shine His light. And I pray that if not my mouth speaking words of salvation and mercy and grace – I pray that the Lord would send someone to speak to those in need.

It’s so dark out there. Sometimes it’s stifling. How can we keep our light shining when there is so much that is determined to snuff it out? To dim that light? Holding to the truth – remembering that His disciples, they had less than we do today. We have the book. We have His Word in our hands and we know how it all ends. We know what to look for; its all there. They had so much less and yet…They did not hesitate. As I often do. Questioning Him and waiting for another option. Why do we try to negotiate with God? Its like even though we say we believe His word and we believe His promises for us, we do not truly know them. We are wavering in our faith. Lord give me faith that when I am called to do or go or speak in your name, that I will not hesitate but will do that which I am called to do. For your glory ~ Greater is He!

I want to be that follower who is immediate, in His will, in all things. I pray that He will speak to me, that He will daily cleanse me, that He will show me those hard things I may need to do and face. Knowing He is with me I can do all thing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

