The Art of Loving Your Husband

Titus 2:4 That they may teach the young women to be sober, to love their husbands, to love their children,

In the few years I have been married, I have to admit there is definitely an art, to marriage. What it is? I still am not completely sure. It’s not like I came from a family where marriage was something you saw and admired. When I look back I have *fond* memories of my father’s parents but mine? My mother and father divorced when I was very young; I do not recall any positive words or actions of them for one another either. Marriage was just not something that anyone did that I saw. Not well anyway. And truthfully I never wanted to get married. Until we came into the church; were born again living for Him, we actually both agreed that marriage was not “our thing”.
Two children later and enough time in the faith to know, we tied the knot. And I admit it was still with hesitation. Not because I do not love ,y husband but mostly because I have no idea how to be married. How to be a wife that is pleasing to the Lord. So I read and I pray and I seek His face; I do what I *know* how to do. But why does it have to be such a challenge? I am not afraid of hard work but considering how dear and precious; how valuable a good marriage is (in His eyes and ours) shouldn’t there be hands reaching out to us inexperienced wives ? 🙂 We need to be so much more intentional. I need to be more intentional. I do. I said it.

I was excited to be a part of the launch group for this one because frankly, it’s so easy. A simple plan and a way that is not so hard at all. It’s baby steps to a better marriage. I am a work in progress; I am honestly still in progress with the 31 days too. I plan to start over and blog the 31 days. Pray for me because, admittedly, I have commitment issues in things like this. So 31 days. Baby steps. One step at a time. Simple right? That’s one of the things I really like about this (I wish it was a book honestly, ebooks work though too!)

Of course the very first words I read, they hit home. And they hit hard. I am a stickler for “the way it ought to be”. I nitpick and nag at times. Yep I said it. So reading the first chapter, on praising your husband. Can we say I do not do this nearly enough? Guilty as charged. Let today be the day I begin to see the things to praise because, love is hard. I know my obsessive nature, my compulsive spirit (some say I could make a decent wife for Mr Monk haha) yet to continue to live by that when He makes all things new (I am a new thing…) It must be.

“Little children, let us not love in word or talk but in deed and in truth.”
1 John 3:18

“Even though this was a marriage challenge, the change went beyond my marriage. My walk with God was strengthened as I sought to honor Him through my marriage and my actions toward my husband.” How true that statement is. After all is not our marriage to be a reflection of Christ and His bride (the church) ? How can we show His glory and His light to others in need outside of our home, if the most important relationship within is in disrepair? I consider my parent, my in-laws…how sad it is to see the lack of respect and love within their relationships. That is not what I want. Not for my family.

I want my marriage to be one that honours God. No matter how difficult it must be. Did not Ghandi say “We must be the change we want to see in the world.” 🙂

I spent years seeking to help others, as a professional social worker, as a youth and family counselor, then as a volunteer and today as a child of God wanting to share Him with anyone I can. But it all starts at home.  As my walk with God progresses I know more and more that I need to come home. Even though I am home, all day, every day as a home maker and home educator, I need to embrace it as the ministry which it is. And that all starts now. With an intentional love.

 

Leave a Reply

