No More Perfect Kids – Day 1

“All children deserve to be celebrated for who they are. When we can identify the unique design of each of our children, resisting the urge to compare them to ourselves, their siblings, or other children, we set them free to be all they are created to be.” Jill Savage and Dr. Kathy Koch, NO MORE PERFECT KIDS

“Why can’t you be more like…?”                                     

I know there isn’t such a thing. We are all His creation; as we are, as He created us to be. Yet sometimes I struggle with comparing one kid to another. I admit it. Wishing my older son had the attention and detail my younger boy does. Wishing my younger son was more independent, as his older brother is.All three are different; they stand apart from one another. Hard as it may be at times, especially with my oldest who really is that different from me, especially, effort has to be made to take joy in who he is. Otherwise the cycle goes on; we must seek to stop it. For our kids.

Being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion.
Philippians 1:6

My prayer, daily, speaks to my need to stop and remember. Each of my children is created, in His image, with His plan in mind for their lives. They are different; they stand apart from others. As they are meant to. Great blessings can come from how determined my 4 year old is; full of curiosity, refusing to not get the answers he needs. My daughter is sweet, silly and rather loud, she is at my side always. Count the blessings of her love and affection. Her desire to be near to Momma. And my oldest son? May his joy never cease, may his stubbornness keep him in a place where he can do great things. He is creative, he is independent and strong willed – Lord I pray that you use these things to bring glory to your name. Let us remember those men of long ago, Paul and Peter and Joshua and Moses – their “imperfections” made them people God could use. Let us never forget those examples.

 

Leave a Reply

