What’s with Oil Pulling

I have heard for some time now about the benefits of oil pulling. I always picture pulling strings of oil….somehow….like s floss, in between your teeth and about your mouth. It’s not as complicated as I made it out to be in my head. And truth be told when you do it with coconut oil (instead of olive oil) its not so bad to the taste buds either.

So what is oil pulling anyway? If you do not know this is an ancient practice; oil pulling cleans and detoxifies teeth and gums. As a bonus it naturally whitens teeth and evidence even shows it is extremely beneficial in improving gums and removing harmful bacteria from the body!

   I take one spoonful every morning (before my coffee, when I remember)  This is day 2 right now. After it melts in my mouth (and in my hands if I wait too long, scraping some off the spoon) it swishes around and about for maybe 20-30 minutes. I do this in the shower or while I am in morning prayer and devotion time. It helps me to not watch the clock so much when I am doing something purposeful as I wash my mouth each day. 🙂 Afterwards I spit it out and swish with warm water (I add a couple drops of peppermint or tea tree oil) making sure to wash out any oils and toxins left behind. Oh, and do not forget to brush your teeth after.

It’s that easy. And the more I read, the more convinced I am that, while I am only on day 2 of this, there are great benefits for dental and general health from this practice. And coconut oil itself. Consider using it more, and other oils less, in cooking and baking. Even basic health and wellness (lotion for hands, hair care…the list goes on)!

I recently heard the Heal Thy Mouth Summit of several experts explain how bacteria and infection enter the blood through the mouth. That said it definitely makes sense and confirms the value of oil pulling. We need address these infections which, if left untreated, could have a serious impact on other parts of the body.

I see oil pulling as very beneficial to our overall health and wellness. (do use a quality oil, if you won’t cook with it, don’t buy it) Oil pulling is a very inexpensive therapy and I plan on continuing this in the coming years myself. As someone who seeks to use modern medicine as little as possible too, the list of benefits that come from coconut oil in general are amazing and highly encouraging.

Do you have experience with oil pulling? Thoughts of questions? Lets share and learn together!

 

One thought on “What’s with Oil Pulling

Leave a Reply

