No More Perfect Kids ~ Day 11

“When issues come up with my children and emotions get high, sometimes I stop and ask myself, “Will this matter in ten years?” I’ve come to understand if the answer is yes, then I need to fight for it, but if the answer is no, then I let it go. Sometimes moms and dads can make mountains out of molehills.” Jill Savage and Dr. Kathy Koch, NO MORE PERFECT KIDS

We are changing things up around our house right now. I think. I have been praying on it for some time now. It seems things have gotten stale. Decisions, decisions … Sometimes I really dislike being a grown up.

My son is a Bible Quizzer in our church. He loves it and he is good at it. In fact he has done so well he and his father have gotten to travel twice this year, for special invitational tournaments in different states. This week they were in Missouri.

He impressed a lot of folks there I guess with his abilities. And when all was said and done he was the 2nd high scorer and his team took 7th place. Big stuff! But turns out he threw out the last game and just stopped quizzing. Two questions in and he stopped; took his thumb off the buzzer and  just quit.

I do not know how to respond to this. And he does not have an answer for why he did what he did. He knows that we are not pressuring him to be number one. He understands that we love him and that we love the Lord. He confirms the most important this is to learn and hide God’s word within your heart. Yet I still feel at a loss…..

Something that he loves doing; such joy when he is in quiz tournaments. Something made him stop. But it is not worth it to continue to badger him; there is no repercussion to his behavior, that I have found so far, that seems “right.”

There are behaviors and decisions we must make; when to let something go and when to hold on to it. Some things need a definite resolution. I do not think this is one of those. Perhaps it was just a long day; maybe he heard all the other folks talking about his “amazing skills”….He has such a heart for the Lord and for God’s word though, I must let this go. As hard as it is for me.

I pray that in all of this we will continue to sow those seeds. It is what we are called to do. One to sow another to reap.  All done together and all for His Kingdom, in the end.

Bless God.

Leave a Reply

