Virtuous Life ~ Week 2

The smallest act of kindness is worth more than
the grandest intention.
– Oscar Wilde

Leftovers….not just the ones you eat. As I read the beginning of this second chapter in The Virtuous Life I just knew, this book was something I needed. I am the leftovers at the end of the day. Maybe not the kind that is for dinner but when it comes to my husband, my marriage, most days, I am little more than leftovers. My husband certainly needs, and deserves, more from his wife.

In Luke chapter 10, there is a sweet story, a parable, of kindness in action. Real life love and kindness; as our Lord shows to us. It may not be convenient, it may not be something we have the time or the energy for, and yet it is a kindness that is so much deeper. That kind Samaritan, he offered it all, right then and there. NO leftovers from him.; Jesus says “Go and do likewise.”

Do you show contempt for the riches of his kindness,
forbearance and patience, not realizing that God’s
kindness is intended to lead you to repentance? – Romans
2:4

Showing kindness is never easy, virtues certainly are an exercise for us all. And yet we are called, we are commanded, to show kindness and mercy – to love others as He loved us. In so doing we shall bring glory to God!

She openeth her mouth with wisdom; and in her tongue is
the law of kindness. – Proverbs 31:26

If I am honest with myself, I am not always so kind with my words. Life is busy, there is much to do and I sometimes get snippy. I say things I regret later; I speak without thinking. Kindness: “It’s more than simply
a desire to do good to others, it’s the behavior itself” It is a charitable gift, often shown to those who may be least deserving of it. May we always be kind especially when we don’t
feel like it, because that’s when it becomes sacrifice.
There are too many times, I have to be honest, when a simple kindness has not been done. I have been too busy; too tired. Or I have just been too into my self to notice another’s need.

Have you ever heard the saying, “When mama’s happy,
everyone’s happy?” I know it to be true in our home. Even more, I pray that the joy in others shall be cherished and opportunities to bring joy to those in need (in and out of our home) will be sought out.

Praise God for His patience and love. His great love of us.

 

The three hardest tasks in the world are neither physical
feats nor intellectual achievements, but moral acts: to
return love for hate, to include the excluded, and to say,
“I was wrong.” – Sydney J. Harris
Some days I look around and can’t help but think

Leave a Reply

