CTC Math ~ A Schoolhouse Review

We struggle with math. Every day. We have tried so many things, online and offline, to little avail. I was never good at math myself; it’s no secret that math is something I just can not teach. Recently we were given the opportunity to try out the 12 Month Family Plan from CTC Math ~ (http://CTCMath.com) for review.

CTC Math ReviewCTC Math is an online math program. The company itself is Australian (makes for fun listening!). The program  covers math for kindergarten through sixth grade and can be used as a complete curriculum. For junior and high school there is included:

  • Basic Math and Pre-Algebra
  • Algebra I
  • Pre-Calculus
  • Algebra II
  • Geometry
  • Trigonometry

Each lesson begins with a short video to introduce the concept being taught. Following the video are questions to be completed by the student. Since it is online and interactive, the student is able to see if they got the answer correct immediately and if not they are able to go back and work through it again.

CTC Math was developed for children, kindergarten through 12th grade (struggling adults too). For the 12 month family plan (at the time of this post) the cost is $118.80 (a 60% savings) for two or more students. There are a number of other membership plans available depending on the needs of your family. 🙂

When we first began with this program, I signed up my two boys (8 and 4) and we spent the first week or two playing around on the site. It is very easy to use and I love how organized it all is. Talk about easy to navigate, for the parents, and the kids too.

We worked on this every day; my 8 year old began in the 2nd grade course. Currently we are using it every other day. He really struggled to get through some of this; division especially, so we really focused in on that topic. My four year old is on a twice a week schedule with this, in the Kindergarten course; he is slower worker but quite determined and very particular about how his work is done. We are still going, although we did break due to a work/vacation out of town ad a few trips my oldest son and his father had planned for his Bible Quiz group with our church. But we have been steadily plugging along!

CTC Math Review

I have to say I was quite impressed with this program. I really liked the videos were short (only about 5-10 minutes) – that is huge for my oldest son who struggles with attention and focus. And my younger son really enjoyed them too! My younger son loves being able to use them computer, just like his big brother, for his own “school”.  And it is easy enough to get around that he can (easier as he gains greater skills in reading). I really liked too how we could start where we wanted, although at the same time I wish there was an assessment test, to give as better idea as to where to begin.

My oldest son has enjoyed his time with this so far, more than other programs. He really enjoys being able to “test” in each topic and I do think it is a good way for him to gauge his understanding of a topic too. Since there are certificates they can earn as well, for scoring high, it encourages my son to come back and try again. I even get an email at the end of each week so I know how my son is doing, with his grades too. We have really had a good time and plan to continue using this as long as we can.

Just as a side-note, because this is Australian, there are some differences which you may need to help your children through. My oldest had a really hard time with the different spellings of certain words (he is really detailed in that regard). There are also some slight differences in regards to phrasing, sequence and units of measure. But do not let this stop you from giving this program a try; it was a minor inconvenience now and then for s, but it also made for a fun social studies lesson, alongside our math some days.

If you are curious but still want to know more do check out the rest of the Crew reviews. I cannot say enough how much I enjoyed this program, and my boys too. For someone like me, this is such an ideal program. It is more than affordable, makes math something understandable, and tangible, and is a complete math program.

Check them out here too:

Facebook CTC Math – https://www.facebook.com/ctcmath?ref=hl

Facebook Aus (Maths Online)  – https://www.facebook.com/mathsonline.com.au?ref=hl

Click to read Crew Reviews

One thought on “CTC Math ~ A Schoolhouse Review

Leave a Reply

