Don’t. Let. Go.

Thinking… so many stuck in sin, fraught with excuses. It’s a shame. Jacob wrestled with God, he did not let go. Talk about standing on His promises. How did God get away? Jacob counted on that promise; he never questioned, he did not ask – He made it clear as we should, that we will not let go. I see people who are stuck, chained to cigarettes and other drugs, alcohol, other random perversions…So many sins, we all have them, just maybe mine is different from yours.Still, we can be free from them if we really want to be. 🙂

I could drink lots of people under the table back in the day; there was little that I did without a drink or two in my hands. And I smoked, at least a pack a day, if not more. Sure I tried to quit both a couple times but….Stress in life, work pressures, an overflowing list of “to-do’s” …I had no real desire to even though I tried again and again. I could not because I did not truly desire freedom from my vices and when we are not in it all the way, how can we possibly be surprised when we do not succeed? When I was born again, when God filled me with His Spirit – It was not until I turned it all over to Him; until I called them out as the sins they were; the damage they did to my body, His temple, that He took them from me. So simple. Easy.  God took them. But only after I clung to Him and acknowledged that He could do that which I could not.

Romans 9:1-5 (KJV)  I say the truth in Christ, I lie not, my conscience also bearing me witness in the Holy Ghost,That I have great heaviness and continual sorrow in my heart.
For I could wish that myself were accursed from Christ for my brethren, my kinsmen according to the flesh: Who are Israelites; to whom pertaineth the adoption, and the glory, and the covenants, and the giving of the law, and the service of God, and the promises; Whose are the fathers, and of whom as concerning the flesh Christ came, who is over all, God blessed for ever. Amen.

I remember clearly how HE took my sins away from me, how HE broke those chains – I had to release that pride, I Had to tell myself that I cannot but He can. Too often we want to do something for God; we think we can show Him our love with what we do. To an extent this is true and yet there are things that bind us, which we cannot be freed from without His hand present in our life. IS it our pride? Vanity? What makes us so willing to hang onto these awful sins that we KNOW we can be released from, if we just let go and stop wanting control of it all?

We are more than conquerors, when we lay it down, when we do not let go of Him. Claim your victory, whatever your sin may be. DO not ask God and hope that He will, but ask it knowing that  He will!  And show the world, “This Is how we overcome”. ❤

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

