Virtuous Life ~ Week 5

Make your heart a safe place for his.
– Lisa Jacobson

Am I trustworthy? I asked my kids. Two said yes, my oldest said sometimes…..My husband chuckled when I asked him. I am not sure what that was supposed to mean?

Make it your ambition to lead a quiet life: You should
mind your own business and work with your hands, just
as we told you, so that your daily life may win the respect
of outsiders and so that you will not be dependent on
anybody. ~ 1 Thessalonians 4:11-12

I always think of myself as leading a pretty quiet life. I do not go out much; there is so much to do at home….We are home educators to so we have science projects to do, keyboards and flutes and guitars to play .. We have Bible Studies to enjoy and stories and books to read and write and act out….Legos….And that is just the kids. I have to read and refresh; I need to keep the home tidy and organized (and it is so far from that right now) and I Wish to learn to sew and quilt, to knit and crochet. And have a home that is filled full of Real food. But I digress….

If I am honest, truth be told, I am not always as quiet as I should be. I love my family, my husband and my three precious children. I admit though we are different. None are alike of course. But we are different one from another; each uniquely created. At times I admit I can complain, I can talk with another and say things I should not about who watches what, how sloppy one is,or the noise that one makes more than another. Things that need not be said; at least when the tone is unkind. I need to tame it thought-by-thought and word-by-word, taking
every thought captive, until I am fully yielding to the
obedience of Christ. Responding to His bridle. 🙂
For in many things we offend all. If any man offend not in
word, the same is a perfect man, and able also to bridle
the whole body. – James 3:2

I consider the Parable of the Talents. My family, they are my talents. The question is will what I do with and for them, be good and right, or will it be wasted ? Let us be wise with all that the Lord has blessed us with. All that we do, it is an investment in the lives of our families. Let us remember and seriously consider in all we do, will do, or would do, what good shall come of it for those we love. In this season or in the ones to come.

 

Leave a Reply

