What I Need this Mother’s Day

It’s not about me. It never was. And really, I am so okay with that! 🙂

So neither the one who plants nor the one who waters is anything, but only God, who makes things grow. 1 Corinthians 3:7

It’s not that I don’t appreciate the gifts and the cards, a day out and about having fun with the family BUT I am the first one to acknowledge that what I do, without God, its impossible. I am not a great mom, I have a great God. There is no thing that I want, honestly, that is going to make such an impact, or fill any void, renew and refresh and rededicate me to my purpose, quite like God can. Like God will.

I read such a powerful truth the other day (as I lamenting over this mothering thing, as I was tired and wanting to give up and give in):

“Most important moms – we need to enjoy the help of
the Holy Spirit in our mothering task.”
“How often have I been guilty of being the Holy Spirit in their lives? It is my job along with my husbands to impart truth but I can’t reveal truth only the Holy Spirit can. It is my job to point out sin and require obedience but I can’t bring conviction of sin – only the Holy Spirit can convict of sin. It is my job to share the gospel – but I can’t reveal the gospel to my children only the Holy Spirit can reveal the truth of the gospel.” – ~Carolyn Mahaney~
Our children should be a joy, a delight, but this requires faithfulness on our part; dedication, to training them up in the way of the Lord.
“Many a mother, alas! Is chastened with the heaviness of a foolish son. In such cases, has not indulgence, instead of wholesome restraint; pleasure, instead of godliness; the world, instead of the bible – educated the child? Want of early discipline; passing over trifles; yielding when we ought to command – how little do we think to what they may grow! God has laid down plain rules, plain duties, and plain consequences flowing from their observance or neglect. To forget a daily reference to them; to choose our own wisdom before God’s; can we wonder that the result should be heaviness?”
~Charles Bridges~
I am guilty. Of thinking that I can make change in their heart and in their mind; that I can make them do the right thing. I suppose I can really; if we push enough they will do what they are told in time, but will it be for God? Or for man?  Only the Holy Spirit can wash and change their hearts and minds, turning them towards a desire to live and to do God’s will in life.
“Truth is we must plant and we must water if we are to make progress with our children in holiness but only the only spirit can change our children more and more into the likeness of Jesus. Our problem is we tend to depend upon our planting and watering rather than the Lord.”
~Jerry Bridges~
This whole motherhood thing, my husband says it is the hardest job in the world. He does not understand how I do it. *smile* All I know is that if I stay in line with Him, with His word, if I trust and have faith, and allow Him to lead, this can be done. I am not one to lie, I can not do this motherhood thing, without Him on my side. I need to hear from Him, I need my time with Him. Otherwise what am I really doing?

Unless the LORD builds the house, those who build it labor in vain. Unless the LORD watches over the city, the watchman stays awake in vain.Psalm 127:1

What are we building? What am I building?

“We need to repent of our sin for not loving our children. Spend some time in repentance and read God’s Word and reading books about motherhood. You may be depleted and need fresh vision and perspective in regards to your role as a mom. Find a way to be alone for a few hours and study God’s Word as your role as a mother. If you are not enjoying your children if you’re lacking joy as a mother may I appeal to you to take whatever measures necessary to change. Repent and find a mature woman who enjoys her role as a mother to encourage you and hold you accountable to this period of your life.”
~Carolyn Mahaney~
If we are not loving, if we are not taking joy in our children…..they see this. And what does that say to them? Do they know that they are worth it? Do they know that every little thing matters? We need to be so intentional, so focused on His purpose for our life and theirs, that nothing else matters.
How do we love them? God will give us all that we need to be strong, to complete the task He has given us – Training them up to be great men and women of God ~ We cannot take this task lightly though. And we cannot trust or lean on any but our Lord.

“This is the thought that should be uppermost on your mind in all you do for your children. In every step you take about them, in every plan, and scheme, and arrangement that concerns them, do not leave out that mighty question, “How will this affect their souls?”

~J. C. Ryle~

 And what do I need this Mother’s Day? I need what only He can give me. I need His refreshing, His direction in my life. That I may forever show and feel that joy and love for my children in every season. Even those hard ones. I need greater faith, a heart that is more and more the heart of our Lord, I need His eyes and His words, in all I do. I  need more Jesus. *I can never get enough truly*  I pray for Jesus to make me ” … a woman who delights in her children, takes pleasure in them, loves being a mother. She relates to them with a tender, warm affection,….this is a rare woman indeed ” ~Carolyn Mahaney
Let me be called blessed! ❤
Leave a Reply

