Be a Life -Giving Mom

“You need to know the meaning of your life is not measured by
the sum total of the mundane moments and monotonous tasks of
motherhood. You need to know that what you are doing has immense
purpose. You need a fresh experience of God’s presence in the midst
of your ordinary, hectic days.” 

I was so blessed with the opportunity to review Sue Detweiler’s: 9 Traits of a Life-Giving Mom: Replacing My Worst with God’s Best.

This is something that comes at a time when my oldest is wearing me out, only 8 years old and yet struggling to be in control. And two younger ones who are so very precious but still very much in need of more. I get tired. We all have those days when one more time is the straw that breaks the momma’s back. And as I was needing fresh eyes, a new perspective, this came my way.

There is so much power in the words she speaks; the pages come to life! We all know this mom thing can seem like a lonely journey; sometimes maybe you feel (like I do) that you just cannot cut it. The other day I said it, “I am the worst mom ever…” My oldest, who is 8, made sure that I knew, I am “the best mom he ever had,” A melting your heart moment! Also a time that makes you (me at least) aware of how much we need God along side us in this mess. 🙂

“It’s when we come to the end of ourselves that we find
God. He is the source of our life. He is the maker of heaven and
earth. He created you in His image. He gave you life, breath,
and purpose.” Becoming a Life-Giving Mom is a book, a trusted friend, an opportunity to be really truly brutally honest with your self.

If I ever thought I was perfect, it was before I had children. Since then I have been all too aware of my short temper; my tendency to holler. Looking back, for years I was an inner city, families at high risk, social worker. I had patience, mercy and grace and love in abundance. I was told I was too understanding and too helpful sometimes.

As you go through the nine traits which are so very much a part of being a life giving mom, there are prayers to pray. There is scripture full of wisdom; reminders that we cannot do this alone. And there is a study guide with questions for you to reflect upon that we may grow into a mother that is full of His life and His Spirit. 🙂

I am still working my way through this one. I am taking my time. This book is a friend to me right now as I seek His way in my family and home. God is our redeemer; He is our strength in all things. As I read and pray and begin each day anew, I seek His will and His wisdom in my ways. Difficult children; challenges and struggles may come…Yet at His side I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me. For when I am weak, He is strong in me.

Feel free to check back. Every week I plan to write a bit more as I journey (sIow and steady) through the 9 Traits of a Life Giving Mom.

“I call heaven and earth to witness against you today, that I have set before you life and death, the blessing and the curse. So choose life in order that you may live, you and your descendants.” (Deuteronomy 30:19) .

 

 

One thought on “Be a Life -Giving Mom

  1. Us mums are too hard on ourselves. We always do the best we can with what we know at the time, and don’t give ourselves enough credit for it. Blessings

Leave a Reply

