Virtuous Life ~ Week 6

No one is useless in this world who lightens the
burdens of another.
― Charles Dickens

I saw this amazing video the other day. It really made me think. Take a few and watch ~ I know you will be glad you did, but get some tissues; it was a real tear-jerker

It was called a “kindness boomerang” but it really hit home for me. You see a ripple effect right? One person one simple moment and yet how many does it change ? Do we seek out those opportunities to bless others? Opportunities to affirm others? And not just out there…How about at home? Its so easy to step out, to bless and affirm a stranger…but not our kids or our husband? Where is our focus?

In “103 Words of Affirmation Every Husband Wants to
Hear,” Matthew L. Jacobson writes, “We need your
affirmation – we have to have it and, oh, how we thrive
with it. Typically, men are quiet about these things but
that doesn’t mean we need and enjoy our wife’s
affirmation any less. And every man feels it: When his
woman is behind him, he can slay dragons.”

I am not as affirmative as I should be; as I could be. When it comes to all that my husband does, I just assume he knows. I mean, here we are. But those words, they need to be spoken more. Confirmation, appreciation, affirmation. If I am honest I am probably not the greatest wife in this area. I make excuses all the time too; my long day, crabby kids, my lack of sleep or time with the Word but really….Excuses don’t do much for building anyone up. Its just another way of showing what really matters. Or doesn’t matter.

Truth is we want home to be a place where we want to be. Where we can relax and know we are loved and appreciated; respected and trusted; a safe and warm place.There are things we must do though to make it, and keep it, so. Prayer. Prayer is huge. And remembering that our husband, our children – they are not Jesus, not our saviour – they are human beings. My husband lets me down sometimes. It should not be a surprise bu rather a confirmation of his needs. Do I see that?

May we pray and seek opportunities to affirm who he is. I pray that I may see him as God sees him; love Him for who he is and affirm the heart he has for the Lord always. It’s not about me; its about us. God created woman for man; together we can!

One thought on “Virtuous Life ~ Week 6

Leave a Reply

