My Home School Tools

“Raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens…..”

As I have been blogging about how I do it (home education that is) a tool belt came to mind. We all have to have certain things in order to get ‘er done right? So it is with home education.

This one mt favorite, one of many, tools of the trade if you will.

We stumbled across “My Father’s World” curriculum when we first began home education. And can i say, I have never stopped loving it? That said I am going to take some time to explain what’s so great about it. 🙂

What worldview are you teaching? Is it a Biblical one? In the beginning when I was seeking out the materials to use, their statement “See the world through God’s eyes” really got me. I am usually not so easy of a sell but I was new in the faith and really eager to do it “right”. I wanted to make sure it was all about Jesus. I was sold. My husband? Not yet.

As we read and talked to others who were educating their children at home; this kept coming up. How as our children learn even the most basic of skills, they also learn His word. Together. There is no separating one from another; our children learn one from and with another. Really, it all goes back to Him. Why would we want to teach our kids something without holding it up next to the light of His word?

Another bonus for us was that this is very much the methods of Charlotte Mason. We love her.  If you are not familiar, basically, she seeks to educate based upon how children naturally learn with a foundation of love and respect. Her methods are  very hands on and simple. Things like narration nature studies, hands-on experiences. In simplest terms, the Charlotte Mason method is based on Charlotte‘s firm belief that the child is a person and we must educate that whole person, not just his mind. So a Charlotte Mason education is three-pronged: in her words, “Education is an Atmosphere, a Discipline, a Life.”

Beautiful! A full curriculum, you can just take it out of the box and get started. Lesson plans are included and easy to follow; there is not a lot of preparation that needs to be done before you begin. It is all there in black and white. I do admit as time progressed we veered away from the schedule, just a bit. But in the beginning this was a fabulous help. It not only helped me to become more sure, that I could do this, but it also helped me to light that fire, for learning in my son.

We are currently using the Kindergarten curriculum (lightly) for my younger son who is soon to be five.  And we just the other day unpacked the Exploring Countries and Cultures for my oldest who is 8. What’s so exciting about this one (its not just the Biblical worldview) is that there is also a strong focus on missions within the program. Awesome! (my son is very intrigued by missions; has said once or twice he wants God to send him one day). Also their multi-age Family Learning Cycle is designed for children through 8th grade to be taught together using the same program. So one program, for many kids, no matter the age. While this is not something that is a huge perk now, eventually it will be a big help when the littles are not so little. 🙂

Now we have supplemented a bit here and there. For the most part though, this one stands alone. Certainly there have been times that we have moved away a bit. Or, as is the case with math right now, we have determined to use a different program, but especially for new and unsure folks, this one is a must have!  And they support missions too. It’s good to know when you have spend some, that the money shall help to bless others, in Christ!

I am also a part of  “My Father’s World” blogroll over at the Little Natural Cottage. So if you use, or just love My Father’s World too, come on by!

 

 

Favorite Curriculum Choices

One thought on “My Home School Tools

Leave a Reply

