Virtuous Life ~ Week 8

“Agape love is the highest level of love known to humanity, a selfless love, a love that is passionately committed to the well-being of others.” C.S. Lewis

It comes to my mind often. It is easy to love those who love us. But what about those who are not so loving to me? Do I love them and show them a love that points them to Jesus? Am I loving others more than myself?

Love is a path paved with compassion and grace.
– Darlene Schacht

Am I showing grace and compassion to others? Especially those within my own home. Grace. It is the key ingredient – God showers us with it.

“When love is seasoned with grace it reaches down to
people who deserve it the least because they need it the
most. It serves the other on the good days and bad.”

Guilty. I feel a slight twinge when I read this one. *ouch*  I am guilty. I try. I really do but too often, those who need love the most still do not get that love from me. We all have bad days; some of us more than others. I have written in past posts about my extended family and their trials; living in sin without the cleansing of Jesus Christ. We all need that. But if we know nothing of it, how shall we know that we need it? Its that agape love God.

 

Do we, in our daily life, choose sin over righteousness ? If one gives us troubles and anger and strife, and we give that same thing back, we choosing to live in the flesh. But if we choose to love them, and be tender and caring and kind, even when they are anything but, the Spirit of God is alive in us. That is the love that God shows us. The love we are called to show others.

“I shall love others because God, loves me.”

It’s that simple. We need to choose love. We cannot fulfill any role in life or marriage but our own. That said how important it is for us to focus on Him and on walking in His ways. We can affect another’s heart by the way that we live, and of course, through prayer, that His will be done.

We find in scripture, love is the greatest virtue; love is the greatest of all commands. Without love, all that is done is of little consequence.

And now abides faith, hope, love, these three; but the
greatest of these is love. – 1 Corinthians 13:13

In fact, God’s greatest will for us is clear:

Master, which is the great commandment in the law? 37
Jesus said unto him, Thou shalt love the Lord thy God
with all thy heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy
mind. 38 This is the first and great commandment. 39 And
the second is like unto it, Thou shalt love thy neighbor as
thyself. 40 On these two commandments hang all the law
and the prophets. – Matthew 22:36-40

Do you see that too? Love is more than just casual affection for man and for God. Love is sacrificial; it is seeing others as greater than ourselves. It is looking to meet the needs of others before considering our own.Would you lay down your life for another? That is the love of God.

Greater love hath no man than this, that a man lay down his life for his friends. (John 15:13)

How I pray to have a heart that loves without abandon, all for Christ. I pray each day that I will be able, and willing, to hear His voice and to allow Him to use me for His glory. Crucify my flesh Lord that I may have no love but that of the things of God. Let me be a vessel, pouring out your love and truth, grace and mercy, to those in need. I pray that I may be defined by nothing more than His truth.

I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I,
but Christ liveth in me: and the life which I now live in the
flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, who loved me,
and gave himself for me. – Galatians 2:20

So many days I know, without a doubt, how unworthy I am to be called. I wonder about how and why I was chosen to be one of His own when so often I fail. As Paul, I struggle with what I wish to do, and what I actually do, sometimes too many times in one day! And yet always, I hear Him reminding me that He loved me first. And He knows where and when I am hurting; He is with me and will not forsake me. Let us know, without a doubt, not just who we are, but whose we are. All that we have, all that we are, it is all by the grace of God !

 

Let us praise Him!

 

 

Leave a Reply

