Where We Belong

I admit it – I am going to be very transparent here. I am struggling a bit right now. It is challenging me to see some very strong, lovely, Godly people who are having many trials right now – And then to see family members; steeped in sin, far from God – who are doing well. Enjoying their days and good things… I admit – i am not glad for them. It maddens me that they have, and those seeking and living for Him, have not.
I remember growing up – being a young adult- Not once did anyone come to save the day. Not family or friends. I had people there to support me and inspire me. But if I did not work, i did not eat. When I was arrested for doing something stupid, I had to pay the consequences. I had to face the music and admit what I did wrong. When I could not pay my rent; I had to get a second job so I would be able to pay. I went without a phone, I had electricity turned off once or twice.
When did we get to this place? Where kids do wrong and life just goes on. No big deal. How did we arrive in a time where a girl being pregnant, unmarried, loose, and unsure who the father is; makes her privvy to government monies, baby showers and celebrations? Where is the shame? Where is the “grow up” in all of this? My cousin, she is young, she is required to do nothing. In her mess, she is “living the good life” . Her days are full of being cared for by family and friends, even though she is repeatedly wrong. Drugs, alcohol, girls and boys, jail … no job, no education, no desire for any. It angers met. The wicked prosper….
I cannot lie, it truly upsets me. i cannot lie – I shake my fists – I seek God wanting to know why .. steeped in sin, no good thing – yet a life full of good things….It is not right.
I know. We are all sinners. We are saved by His grace and His mercy. BUT, hear me, is there not a BIG difference between those who are His, who are seeking to live ALL for Him. There is a difference between us who do everything and anything, for Him, and those who do not care for Him and the things of GOD. Why?
I am not jealous. I am not wanting those others have But what about that sweet couple who wants a baby? who understands and is ready to be a mom and a dad. what about that inspiring older couple;so full of Him and His spirit – they live a beautiful life that one cannot doubt, is all for Jesus – they can barely get by. Perhaps one has no car and takes the bus or a taxi, faithfully, to church for services. Another teaches Bible Studies, coming to others who are seeking. They struggle, they fight to just keep their head above water. And in all of, for all they have, they give God the glory.
It’s about eternity.  This world – it is not for us. The joy, the things that those of this world have, they do not, and should not, matter to us. I am not angry now. I am sad, for all those out there who are rescued by man again and again, never being left to stand on their own. never having been taught how to make a way. I am sad for those who may never know God, because the world has given them so many good things – too many good days and good friends and good things – they do not need God.  i am sad for them because all of this, counts for nothing, when we consider what really matters. Bless those who struggle, and do so full of the joy only Jesus can give. Bless those who just know, that while the wicked prosper, they have MORE in Christ alone.
Save me Lord for “my feet had almost stumbled, my steps had nearly slipped.  For I was envious of the arrogant when I saw the prosperity of the wicked” (Ps 73:2-3.)  i feel like Asaph truly; so bothered by seeing  the riches of those who are not living for Him. I can admit it. Some days I admit I pray this: “All in vain have I kept my heart clean and washed my hands in innocence.  For all the day long I have been stricken and rebuked every morning” (Ps 73:13-14.)  There is no doubt there are days I have to ask why? Why do I struggle to live for God when those who don’t have so much more? Is there a point? Why is every day a new struggle for me while they eat and drink in joy and sin?
God is so gracious though – to keep our feet in a place where we do not stumble. HE reminds me, as I believe He reminded Asaph (truly a Godly and righteous man): …when I thought how to understand this”… (the prosperity of the wicked compared to  the hardships of God’s people… “it seemed to me a wearisome task, until I went into the sanctuary of God; then I discerned their end” (Ps 73:16-17.)  We praise and we worship; it is then only, that we see how Truly you set them in slippery places, you make them fall to ruin.”   He sets them in a place where they will fall.  God will cause them ruin. Though they seem to have it all right now, in this world…  ultimately in the end is destruction and it will come.  “They will be swept away utterly by terrors.” In the end those whose names are not written in the Lamb’s Book of Life will be cast into the lake of fire where they will suffer forever (Rev 20:15.)  What they have now is of no matter. They enjoy all these things but none can save. Perhaps some days we forget what is in store for those who are so “Rich” right now.
Nevertheless… (Ps 73:23.)”  In all of my foolishness; as I covet an easy life for myself, for those I love…I miss the bigger picture. I forget how much greater what we have, is compared to all that they have. I lose sight; like a dumb animal (Ps 73:21-22.). Who wants the blessings that are upon the wicked? I am ashamed of myself for thinking it at all.
I am continually with you; you hold my right hand.  You guide me with your counsel and afterward you will receive me to glory.” 
God is all I need. HE is all we ever need. Focus on the eternal.
Whom have I in heaven but you?  And there is nothing on earth that I desire besides you.  My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever” (Ps 73:25-26.) 
God is our reward. May we never forget. Remove our eyes from those wicked that are before us and look up . Seek His kingdom.  If we look to the world, if we compare with the world ~ there is o comparison. Great is our reward and that reward is Him. For all of eternity. This world is dark; it gets darker all the time. Right is wrong and wrong is right. There is no good thing here for us. As His children, let us never forget we are  in the world but we are NOT of the world.
 
psalm-73
 
 
2 thoughts on “Where We Belong

Leave a Reply

