Getting to Know You ….

The Apostle Paul has always been one of my favorite persons of old within the pages of the Bible. I read his story and it just speaks so powerfully to me of the power of God to work in any situation.

In so many ways, I have been able to read Paul’s story, his writings, again and again, and receive inspiration. His words over and over renew that fire within me; when I struggle they help me to remember I am not alone. He reminds me that even within the pages of the Word of God, those men and women, they too struggled. They faltered, fell, failed, repented, sinned – again and again they had to fight the flesh, just as we do today.

I was so excited to see a series of books – Apostle Paul – part of the Get to Know series – each a unique biography of a Biblical figure. We have the book of Paul (but there are many more to choose from)  Focusing on the life and character of the Biblical hero/heroine, using color photographs, maps, and other visual aids to tell the  story, young  fans and not so history loving kids even, will come to learn more about this man of the God, his writings, his impact on the early church, and the role he plays in history. There is also a bibliography and so many scriptural references throughout, this is a favorite for my oldest son and I already. This is also an excellent took for Bible Studies.

I think of the Apostle Paul and the many things that would lead us to believe that this was a man who could never be a servant of God much less one who knew himself as “the worst of sinners…” He was a powerful man who crucified the Christians; he was (to me) the most powerful of men. Such a fire and passion for God wherever he went he preached. Boldly. What an example to us all!   

 

 

Get to know the Apostle Paul, in this book that brings to life, these figures from so long ago. What a powerful way to share the stories of great figures within the Bible with our youth today.

We loved the “Did You know” that was on various pages, each with something new and interesting to ponder. Definitions, explanations for many cultural and historical things, all little tidbits throughout the pages of this book. It really brings history alive.

I highly recommend this be added to your library. As a home educating family that seeks to study and “shew ourselves approved as workman of God” these are such wonderful materials to have at hand. We will be surely collecting the rest of these books as well in the near future! 🙂
I review for BookLook Bloggers
 

Leave a Reply

