Preschoolers and Peace- Homeschooling With Little Ones In the Mix ~ Schoolhouse Review

 

Up until a few months ago I have been unfamiliar with Kendra Fletcher and her blog, Preschoolers and Peace,but with a 9 and 5 year old son, a daughter who is 3 and one more on the way, I was eager to read all I could when I had the opportunity.  In our home I want to be sure I am encouraging a love of learning, even in the little ones, so all the advice I can get to help me in this season is a blessing indeed.  When I was had the chance to review Preschoolers and Peace: Homeschooling older kids with success while loving the little ones at your feet, I knew that I had to be a part of the review. I had no doubt there would be many gems within its pages that would prove to be, an answer to prayer.

Preschoolers and Peace: Homeschooling older kids with success while loving the little ones at your feet is an e-book that is packed full of information from the most highly rated and popular posts from the Preschoolers and Peace blog.  You can purchase this ebook for $2.99 and contains an amazing wealth of information!!!  There are thirteen short and very easy-to-read chapters. Again, the pages are full of wisdom to help us mommas really run our household and homeschool with little ones at our feet.  There is also an awesome “Resource” section that contains links to articles related to each chapter for further reading.

Just to give you an idea as to all that is packed into these pages, check out the Table of Contents:

  • Introduction
  • Ch. 1 What a Homeschooling Mom Needs
  • Ch. 2 Preparing Yourself to Homeschool Older Kids With Little Ones Underfoot
  • Ch. 3 Planning Around Preschoolers
  • Ch. 4 How Do I Keep Them Busy?
  • Ch. 5 What Does a 2-Year-Old’s Day Look Like?
  • Ch. 6 How Do I Get Any Preschooling Done?
  • Ch. 7 How Not to Just Kill Time
  • Ch. 8 Circle Time, Or How We Pull the Little Ones In
  • Ch. 9 Preschool Boys
  • Ch. 10 When All of Your Kiddos Are Preschoolers
  • Ch. 11 Preschool Chores
  • Ch. 12 Planning for Preschool
  • Ch. 13 When Mama is Worn Out (or Pregnant)
  • Meal Planning 101
  • A Final Word of Encouragement
  • Resources

So much of this book focuses on establishing routines with little ones and there are so many great ideas as to how to get the most out of the early years, so very helpful for us mommas with little ones, regardless of whether there are older siblings or not.  Certainly we can attest to the benefits of routine in our homes. After all, “Homeschooling works. Homeschooling successfully with little ones underfoot is entirely possible. You will be tired, sometimes frustrated, and always needing to lean on Jesus, but you can also be joyful, excited to dig in, and totally blessed.”  Can I get an Amen? 🙂

I do wish I would have come across this book sooner.  She is so very encouraging, in a Godly way. A breath of fresh air and inspiration for other moms. I adore her constant reminder to keep Christ first in all that we do.  I love how throughout there is such a strong focus on prayer, on Christ and our need for Him in our home and homeschool. Every day. Every moment.

“The gospel is where we begin, dwell, and end. The gospel isn’t just for the non-believer; it’s the lens through which we see everything else. It’s the center from which the Old and New Testaments radiate; it’s the crux, the pinnacle, the end-all, be-all. And the good news of our creation, fall, redemption, and restoration by Christ should be what we remind ourselves of each and every day.” 

I cannot say enough how precious this simple little book is. It is well worth the price, I promise you that! After my initial reading I had to go back and read some of those chapters again. Especially meal planning since, pregnant and nauseous most of the time, food is the last thing I am thinking of. Then there is training time, a big thing for my oldest son as we really start to focus more in conversation and daily activities in general, those virtues we need to exercise. I also use this time to make them helpers, as I can, having them assist in the kitchen, help with cleaning and folding laundry; there are lots of ways we can all be together and at the same time learn skills that we all need to have. And then I am considering her schedule examples within the book, and how I may be able to tweak those to work for my home.

Its all about grace. And its all about Jesus, at the center of it all. We are never told that this is going to be easy, but it will be worth it. When we keep our focus on His will and His way for our home and school amazing things will happen.  This is an incredible book, one to remind us that this journey we are on, it can be done….We are not alone. And isn’t it so much easier to know on those challenging days that someone else has been there too? Its coming together, its sharing where we have been and where we are now, giving all glory to Jesus of course.

Eccles 4:10:  For if they fall, the one will lift up his fellow: but woe to him that is alone when he falleth; for he hath not another to help him up.

 

 

Click to read Crew Reviews

Connect With Preschoolers and Peace:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/PreschoolersandPeace
Twitter: https://twitter.com/KendraEFletcher
Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/kenj/
Google+: https://plus.google.com/+KendraFletcher/posts
You Tube: https://www.youtube.com/user/preschoolersandpeace

Crew Disclaimer

Leave a Reply

