Grace and Gratitude

Every time I hear the word grace, I am reminded that I must live a life, everyday, which reflects, my gratitude to God ~ Chuck Colson

 

Being thankful is a choice. It is something we willfully do each day.

I mean, let me very transparent here. I awake most mornings to my Bible and a cup of coffee. Sometimes I get some quiet in there too. Most days, no matter how early I awake, my children are very soon bounding down the steps with hug and kisses – Ready to start their day. No need for coffee or tea on their part! haha

Some days I do thank God for my joyful and loving children. but not every day. Some days, I have to admit it, I grumble. There goes my quiet times. So much for prayer and reading. They cannot sit still; they already have a plan in place. Its a rush of getting dressed to get outdoors, to walk, to do a new project (art or nature or story). They have a plan. And some days rather than appreciating their desire to go and do, I just want them to shoo  LOL

I admit it, on those mornings, I choose to be ungrateful for the blessings He has provided. I need to choose to be thankful; I need to be intentional in doing so. Every day. Regardless of whether I slept well or not; how loud everyone was in the morning; if the car works or if it stalled and we are home for the day. In sickness and health, in all things, it’s about choosing to be grateful because there is always something to be grateful for.  And how hard can it be when “His mercies are new every morning?” (Lamentations 3:23)

 

Leave a Reply

