We NEED ….

But Moses hands were heavy; and they took a stone, and put it under him, and he sat thereon; and Aaron and Hur stayed up his hands, the one on the one side, and the other on the other side; and his hands were steady until the going down of the sun.
Exodus 17:12 (KJV)

WE were never made to stand alone. We were never meant to do this by ourselves.

Relationships are so important to our God. His with us; ours with others.

We were made to need each other.

We are His vessel; His hands and feet and mouth – We cannot have that relationship though (with Him or another) if we are not willing. If we do not see, and know, our own need.

 

I type this and ponder because truly, I was raised to not need anyone. To be able to stand alone. And for as long as I can remember, in my youth, no matter how hard I fell, how low I was, whenever I sought aid, it was always told to me “you’re strong, a survivor, you don’t need help”

To this day I admit, I struggle with seeking others when I need prayer. I struggle with going to others when I am unsure, when the ground I am standing on seems shaky. I have a small number of close friends, ladies that I consider to be strong in their faith, ladies that I can grow from and in my time with them. Yet it is still something I must be intentional about – being a friend and making myself a friend. Hard work. But the blessings that come from giving of yourself, to others….. ❤

 

It is refreshing to know that there are those who I can lean on today. To know when I am tired, I can reach out, and there is a hand there to grab onto. To know that I can admit (or try anyway) that I just can’t do it.  And what freedom comes from us letting go of all of that; the pressures and the stresses that are placed upon (by ourselves or others)
A perfect expression of this is found in Fresh Initiative #1: “[relationships are] . . . highly valued as expressions of our passion for the supremacy of God’s love.” How do you exalt the supremacy of God’s love? By trusting it and by helping other people trust it. By being satisfied with it and by helping others be satisfied with it. ”

 

 

Leave a Reply

