Gimme a “P”

God says peace is a “fruit of the Spirit” (Gal. 5:22). According to His word, if we do not experience peace in our home, it is not because God is withholding it but rather because we are refusing His offer.  *ouch*

Its hard to hear that you are the one holding back. We all need the peace that only He can provide. But we have to get to that place where we are willing to hear, and then obey, His words, before He can give us that precious peace.

“Where you go, I go …. where you stay I stay…I will follow you…”

Am I following Him right now?

As I write this we have a small house, overflowing with joyful noises. My in-laws are visiting this weekend. Since we rarely see them its a very exciting time for all three of our children. And introverted me struggles with that peace in these kinds of times.

We have taken a break from our home education. My oldest son became a bit restless, very reluctant to engage in anything. We struggled and we fought and there was no peace in our home. None at all. he is precious, a quick learner, but a stubborn boy with a strong will. We had to take a break. He was tired. I was tired. Truth be told we have been busy – speech and debate club, Bible quizzing, learning to speak and read and write Chinese, drawing and computer coding…Its a lot for anyone.

2 Timothy 3:15 (KJV)  And that from a child thou hast known the holy scriptures, which are able to make thee wise unto salvation through faith which is in Christ Jesus.

What is that peace in our home worth really? And then this article came into my email box that said, “When we stand before the Lord, as we all will one day, what will matter most to Him? Is He going to test our math skills, or quiz us on geography or civics…what matters most is if our children are being brought up in the Lord, in His ways and with the mind and heart of Jesus Christ…”

It really made me think. If I let it, this homeschooling process can really steal our peace. We worry and become anxious about what they are or aren’t learning. If they are “on track” according to whatever book we are reading. We try to cram in all that we can (I admit it, I had dreams of greek and latin, philosophy, poetry and classical music all the days….)

How can there be any peace for anyone in that? Let’s face it, I’m learning that not everything that “they” say we need is really what we need. In fact, sometimes it is the worst thing for us. There are just so many misconceptions surrounding education and those things we need to know.

God has promised peace to His children; I want that peace. And since God does not change His mind – awesome that He never changes – I am going to take hold of that promise of peace.

From now on we are not going to “take off” from school. Our days may vary, and some may busier than others but we are embracing the idea that learning happens ALL the time. No matter where we are, there is always something amazing we can learn.

I’m continuing to ask for grace and perspective to make this vision happen. I know that while I am weak and fail so often, it is His love and grace and peace which makes me strong. Because greater is He that is in me, than HE that is in the world.

I’m praying for the ability to humbly embrace what comes and to stand strong on the unshakeable foundation of what God wants our home and family to be about.

I think of Paul who commands us: “Do not be anxious!” It sounds so easy – can’t God just “pour out His peace” on us? Why can’t it be that easy?

I confess – I am probably harder to live with than most. I love, I need, my quiet time. I admit I get rather cranky when I do not get enough time to just sit and breathe.

Paul said he could be content in any circumstance; he showed that peace when he was in the jail at Philippi;  he sang and and worshipped and praised the Lord. That show of faith and love, it brought the Philippian jailer and his family to salvation.
James wrote, “Consider it all joy, my brethren, when you encounter various trials” (James 1:2).
Peace.  Shalom. Which means, “I hope you have all the highest good coming your way.”   
It is said that without peace, there can be no completion… The Mishnah says: “God did not find a vessel that could hold blessing other than shalom (peace).”

Isaiah 26:3-4: Isaiah 26:3-4 (KJV) Thou wilt keep him in perfect peace, whose mind is stayed on thee: because he trusteth in thee.  Trust ye in the LORD for ever: for in the LORD JEHOVAH is everlasting strength:

Leave a Reply

