Does He Reign?

I woke at about 5am this morning; this song running through my head. It’s beautiful isn’t it?

But I got to thinking as I lay in bed…what does rule in my heart?

Long ago when I was small it was ponies, bunnies, stories and songs from long ago … as I got older that changed to things that were not so harmless, like rock concerts, the occult, mind altering substances, life or death experiences….my heart was a mess….today it’s my Jesus. My family and home, training my children for the Lord, baking and learning to be a stronger and brighter light in the darkness.

Ezekiel 36:26 – A new heart also will I give you, and a new spirit will I put within you: and I will take away the stony heart out of your flesh, and I will give you an heart of flesh.

“I stand in awe of you … ”

I am today, still, so in awe of His power and love. I am so in awe of all He has created; from the sleeping ones upstairs, to the little life being so perfectly and miraculously formed within my belly. I can feel her kicks as I write.

Proverbs 4:23 – Keep thy heart with all diligence; for out of it [are] the issues of life.

We are told to keep our heart; we are commanded to guard our heart.

Matthew Henry says: We must keep a watchful eye and a strict hand upon all the motions of our inward man, Prov. 4:23. Here is, 1. A great duty required by the laws of wisdom, and in order to our getting and preserving wisdom: Keep thy heart with all diligence. God, who gave us these souls, gave us a strict charge with them: Man, woman, keep thy heart; take heed to thy spirit, Deut. 4:9. We must maintain a holy jealousy of ourselves, and set a strict guard, accordingly, upon all the avenues of the soul; keep our hearts from doing hurt and getting hurt, from being defiled by sin and disturbed by trouble; keep them as our jewel, as our vineyard; keep a conscience void of offence; keep out bad thoughts; keep up good thoughts; keep the affections upon right objects and in due bounds. Keep them with all keepings (so the word is); there are many ways of keeping things—by care, by strength, by calling in help, and we must use them all in keeping our hearts; and all little enough, so deceitful are they, Jer. 17:9. Or above all keepings; we must keep our hearts with more care and diligence than we keep any thing else. We must keep our eyes (Job 31:1), keep our tongues (Ps. 34:13), keep our feet (Eccl. 5:1), but, above all, keep our hearts. 2. A good reason given for this care, because out of it are the issues of life. Out of a heart well kept will flow living issues, good products, to the glory of God and the edification of others. Or, in general, all the actions of the life flow from the heart, and therefore keeping that is making the tree good and healing the springs. Our lives will be regular or irregular, comfortable or uncomfortable, according as our hearts are kept or neglected.”

heart

We must choose to guard our hearts. Each day. Every moment.

Everyday, we are faced with choices…we are bombarded with stuff. Some nutritious, others nothing but junk. And we must choose life or death. Whom shall you serve?

Do not let down your guard and, let the devil in. So be watchful, sober and obedient to Him. Guard your heart !

Leave a Reply

