Word of the Year

This is the first year I have determined to have a “Word of the Year.” There were many, so many, ups and downs in 2014 for us, I saw the need for more peace. In our home. . Thanking God for all of them but it showed how desperately we need more peace in this year. And so (drumroll please) my word of the year is: Peace.

 

peace

 

 

In my beginning, and brief, search, I have found, how powerful, and precious, true Biblical peace, is:

In English, the word “peace” makes one think of passivity, an absence of civil disturbance or hostilities, or a personality free from internal and external strife. But the biblical concept of peace is so much bigger than that. It is a strong part of the Hebrew root slm, which means “to be complete” or “to be sound.” The verb conveys a dynamic and static meaning “to be complete/whole” or “to live well.” And this can be grouped into four categories: (1) salom [l’v] wholeness of life or body (i.e., health); (2) salom [l’v] right relationship or harmony between peoples, often by a covenant (“covenant of peace” in Num 25:12-13 ; Isa 54:10 ; Ezek 34:25-26 ).  When related to Yahweh, the covenant was renewed or maintained with a “peace offering”; (3) salom [l’v] prosperity, success, or fulfillment (see Lev 26:3-9 ); and (4) salom [l’v] victory over one’s enemies or absence of war. Salom [l’v] is known to be used in both greetings and farewells, acting as a blessing on the one to whom it was spoken: “May your life be filled with health, prosperity, and victory.” As an adjective, it expressed completeness and safety. In the New Testament, the Greek word eirene [eijrhvnh] is the word most often translated by the word “peace.” There is some overlap in their meanings, with the Hebrew word salom [l’v] being broader in its usage, yet  it has greatly influenced the New Testament’s use of eirene [eijrhvnh]. (Baker’s Evangelical Dictionary of Biblical Theology – Peace )

 

As a Christian mother, wife, and homeschool mom, I cannot afford a home and family that does not have His peace encompassing it. I must be faithful to Him calling for my life. I mean, peace is so directly and completely related to our actions and attitudes. And it is ultimately a gift from God (Isaiah 45:7; Leviticus 26:6; John 14:27). The presence of peace indicates God’s blessing on man’s obedience (Isaiah 32:17; Malachi 2:5) and faith (Isaiah 26:3). We all need this kind of peace 🙂

 

In fact we are commanded to seek peace (Psalm 34:14; Matthew 5:9). That said we should “make every effort to do what leads to peace” (Romans 14:19). In fact, we have an obligation to “let the peace of God rule” our hearts (Colossians 3:15), to trust God’s promises and let His peace rule. Jesus gave His disciples peace (John 14:27; 16:33).

Peace is one of the Fruits of the Spirit too so, if we allow the Spirit of God to rule in our lives, we will experience His peace and to be spiritually minded brings life and peace (Romans 8:6). Who wouldn’t want that for their life?

There are so many things I feel I need to do this year from home management, organizing and meal planning to the coming new addition and making our home education “work” in the midst of this. There are new activities we would like to pursue as a family, such as archery, more time at the shooting range, my husband taking up hunting more serious, my desire to sew and crochet….I could go on, and as I think about it, I get that lights knot in my stomach … I begin to stress and then I remember….Peace…. ❤

 

I need to breathe. I need to seek His peace and as I do so I just know that with His peace, He will help me to do all I “must” with His blessing upon each and every task I undertake.  Gloriously! ❤

 

Psalm 85:10 ~ Love and faithfulness meet together; righteousness and peace kiss each other.   

11 thoughts on “Word of the Year

  1. I love the concept of having a word encompass your home and family! I remember singing a song in children’s choir called “Shalom” –it said “the word Shalom means peace, hello and goodbye, so sing shalom SHALOM!” I remember it being such a special song for me and my friends 🙂 I pray this year will be one of Peace! Thanks for linking up 😀

    1. I will have to look for that song – my kids always love to sing and dance about the house. Would be a great song for them to learn I think! Its amazing how so many of the Hebrew words, they go so deep – Beautiful!

Leave a Reply

