Such a Time as This

1 Timothy 5:8 (KJV)   But if any provide not for his own, and specially for those of his own house, he hath denied the faith, and is worse than an infidel.

This can be a true struggle for me and my husband as our families are not believers (aside from my mother in law and father in law). Yet as a child of God, if I  am truly His follower, then I need to show his love to everyone, especially to our family.  Does He not say that it means so much more if we love our “enemies”? Those who are not believing on Him as we do? Matthew Henry says of this: “If any men or women do not maintain their poor relations, they in effect deny the faith. If they spend upon their lusts and pleasures, what should maintain their families, they have denied the faith, and are worse than infidels. If professors of the gospel give way to any corrupt principle or conduct, they are worse than those who do not profess to believe the doctrines of grace.” And so we see how deep this one goes.

 

A: This isn’t just about taking people in or bringing them items they need when we have time. This is a true heart of Christ that we are to show. We are to care for them, more than the things we want, vacations or nights out. As with all things, we are to desire to give and care for those in need, before our self.  If we are not providing for family in need (not desires and wants, but needs) we are not showing the grace and love of Christ.  Perhaps each day we are providing, caring and serving everyone but ourself ~ Is this not what He did when He was with us in the flesh? How we need to have the heart and mind that joyfully serves others, as if we are serving Him alone. Show more love, more grace.

 

P:  Jesus I thank you for all that you show me every day and every moment when I am in your Word and in prayer. LORD help me, even in the difficult places, to desire nothing more than to serve and care for those in need, as you do.  Jesus help me to see, to seek out, those needs, those opportunities to show your light within.  Forgive me for those times I have not done as I should have or have been unkind in word and deed when there was a greater need I did not want to see.  Help me to remember that I am here, right now, this is your will for me – let me reach out in love and grace to all in need.  In Jesus name I pray this prayer for a heart ever full of your love and ever seeking to do your will and bring you glory! ❤

 

 

As I read this scripture about our parents, our family and caring for them – we are here for such a time as this. God has placed us in this place and time, to seek His voice and to do His will.   https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LXcJUIAJNW0

 

 

Leave a Reply

