With ALL

Deuteronomy 6:5-9 (KJV) And thou shalt love the LORD thy God with all thine heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy might. And these words, which I command thee this day, shall be in thine heart: And thou shalt teach them diligently unto thy children, and shalt talk of them when thou sittest in thine house, and when thou walkest by the way, and when thou liest down, and when thou risest up. And thou shalt bind them for a sign upon thine hand, and they shall be as frontlets between thine eyes. And thou shalt write them upon the posts of thy house, and on thy gates.

 

O:  This is known as the Shema; a declaration of faith in one God. The obligation to recite the Shema is separate from the obligation to pray and a Jew is obligated to say Shema in the morning and at night (Deut. 6:7).  Did you know when a person prays alone, he begins the Shema with the phrase “God, Faithful King” (El melekh ne’eman) to bring the number of words in the Shema up to 248, the number of parts in the human body? This is done to indicate that the worshiper dedicates his or her whole body to serving God.  People commonly close their eyes or cover them with the palm of their hand while reciting it to eliminate every distraction and help them concentrate on the meaning of the words. The final word, echad, should be prolonged and emphasized. Often, the last letter of the first and last words of the Shema verse are written in larger print in the siddur. This is because these letters form the word “ed,” witness, and remind Jews of their duty to serve as witnesses to God’s sovereignty by leading exemplary lives. God’s words are to govern His people in all matters of life. We need to live them, love them and share them every day treasuring the revelation of His Word as given to us as His chosen ones.

 

shema

 

A:  Do you see what I see?  We are told we must love, must think, must teach. These are not suggestions, they are commands! Things that are integral to our faith, that must be done constantly. In all that we do, all the time that we have, God should be the first thing on our minds. When I wake let me awake to praise Him, reach out to Him.  May He be on my mind every hour of the day. In all I do I ought to be thinking, doing, acting, showing, loving, reaching – just as Jesus did.  ALL of the time. IF we are consistent with this, He is our strength and our joy!  Just imagine the power, the beauty, the change that would come. In us.  In them.  No excuses, no looking back -moving head to stand on the promises of my Saviour!

 

P:  Jesus you know my every thought, my every need. Lord forgive me those times when I have been frustrated, weary, ready to give up. Lord help me to always keep you at the center of all things; give me the desire to obey your greatest commandments joyfully: to love You with all of my heart, soul, and mind and strength! What joy, happiness and delight will fill my life! Lead me Lord, let me be more willing and able. I love you Lord. You alone are my joy.   Lead me, Lord. Keep me praising you all the day long. Thank you for all the goodness that you pour into my life. In your precious name I pray. Bless you Lord Jesus ❤

 

I feel such a call to worship this morning. Enjoy and surrender as you listen ;

 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fDmvDXMbPB4

Leave a Reply

