Hold ‘Em Up

 

 

Exodus 17:12 (KJV) But Moses’ hands were heavy; and they took a stone, and put it under him, and he sat thereon; and Aaron and Hur stayed up his hands, the one on the one side, and the other on the other side; and his hands were steady until the going down of the sun.

 

When Moses grew tired- I know that feeling; we all get tired and need a little help from our friends now and then right? Aaron and Hur were there for him.  They held his hands up just as we need to hold up our brothers’ and sisters’, being present and aware of the brethren. It’s a calling – intercession – standing in the gap – The question is, do we see the needs?  Are we aware of those with hands that are wavering? We are not able, not one of us, to do this on our own We need others in this journey. 

If you think about it the Israelites were not well trained for battle with the Amalekites, they had been in captivity for 400 years. Their adversary however, they were trained. We can see how the Israelites victory in the battle is dependent upon Moses raising up that staff. Surely God is the source of Israel’s victory every time!  But supporting the battle in prayer was difficult; Moses could not continue on his own. He grew weary. He needed Aaron and Hur to lift him up, supporting his hands: Aaron and Hur came along side Moses and literally held his hands up for him. We are  all called for such a work as this: intercession. Just as God called Moses to lead the Israelites to freedom he still needed others to come along side and strengthen him. Joshua and his men  may have fought the physical battle, but they could not have gained the victory if  Moses and his men had not also been fighting the spiritual battle. This is the power that is in prayer.  So much in life, we may never realize how very much, is dependent upon strong and sure prayer warriors who will hold each other up. We must be willing to intercede for others.

 

How often we read about Moses being on his face before the Lord.  Moses was a man who stayed close to God.  He trusted in Him and knew his weakness, he knew his need for the Lord. And he was surrounded by people, chosen of God, to walk with him.  Aaron was chosen to speak for Moses. Are the people in your life those sent by God? To strengthen and lift you up? Aaron and Hur saw when there was a need and they choose to act. Together, Israel won the battle. We must be sure we are surrounded by strong Godly people who will see those needs and lift us ad others, up in times of need. We need to also always remember that if we want the victory, we must stick to God’s plan for things.  Since He is before us, we can be sure that He knows our situation and need and is with us!

 

I admit that I am someone who prefers to keep to myself. I am not outgoing.  I am not a people person, no matter how I try. I have a very small group of friends who I love dearly but when it comes to the church (large groups of people; noisy, lots of small talk)  I tend to get worn out quickly. We have been in our church for about 3 years now; for the first year I joined the “Secret Sisters” ministry. Knowing that I need to reach out; I need to look and see and hear others. No matter how tired I may be, how uncomfortable it may get – I need to show a love and desire to be present and a greater part, of the community. Loving and standing in the gap for the brethren. As I said, this is a challenge for me in many ways. But it is something to be more and more intentional about in my days.

 

Jesus I ask you today to give me a greater love and desire for the brethren. Lord help me to look and see those in need.  There are so many things I wish to do each day; let me remember that it’s all about you Jesus. I am here to serve, not to be served. Help me to be present in the community that is the body of Christ; to reach out to eagerly and willingly stand in the gap for those who need. Give me strength, the wisdom that comes from you alone Lord – to see and while “silver and gold I may have none” bless me with the wisdom and desire to stand boldly, interceding, and giving all that I do have. IN Jesus name.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

