All Together

1 Corinthians 12:26-27 (KJV) And whether one member suffer, all the members suffer with it; or one member be honoured, all the members rejoice with it. Now ye are the body of Christ, and members in particular.

We are the Body of Christ. A body is made up of many parts, each with its own purpose, specially designed. One is no more or less important than the other one. So it is also with the body of Christ – each of has been called for a specific purpose. Each of us with unique talents, personalities and abilities. Different but precious. When one part is in pain, or is not working as it ought to, the rest of the body feels that, and there is an emptiness – a need that is now not being met. Of course, the body works best, when it is well maintained too. We cannot all be eyes or ears or the mouth. Some of us need to be the feet, the hands, and those parts that no one may ever really see.

This quote was shared by another lady and I had to add it here :

all … suffer with it — “When a thorn enters the heel, the whole body feels it, and is concerned: the back bends, the belly and thighs contract themselves, the hands come forward and draw out the thorn, the head stoops, and the eyes regard the affected member with intense gaze” ” rejoice with it — “When the head is crowned, the whole man feels honored, the mouth expresses, and the eyes look, gladness” [Chrysostom].

Am I jealous of others with what appears to be a more important job? Am I doing my job to the best of my ability? Do I ever feel that I am not important? Do I spend more time wishing I had what another does or do I rejoice in what He has created me to be? We must always remember that we are special; a child of God, daughter of the ONE true King with a position no one else can fill. As for myself, have such a desire to come alongside others in the Body, especially younger women (in need of discipleship or mentoring) yet I often find myself lacking or unsure of how to come alongside them. Sometimes I’m not sure if “help” is wanted even. Other times, I have felt a lack of spiritual connection (not seeking a deeper relationship to God)…as a social worker in my past life (haha) it seems I often end up connecting with people who need a ‘sounding board’ or sympathy in a way that is not functional and other times I’ve had such a desire, seen such an obvious need which seems to be genuine, but families, or schedules are just impossible to make a connection. Certainly God makes a way when it is His will for us but I shall continue to pray and seek His will that I may use the gifts which He has so graciously blessed me with.

And so I pray today, Jesus: “Let us be women who no longer compare and compete, but celebrate and complete our friendships, churches, workplaces and homes with the unique offering we bring. Let us find and embrace in love the freedom and confidence that comes with us becoming the woman God created us to be! Dear Lord, thank You that I’m Your masterpiece, created anew in Christ Jesus so I can do good things You planned for me so long ago. Let me not compare myself with others so I can become more and more who You created me to be. Let me be a woman who is strong and sure in your love and your Word living in complete faith and obedience to you. In Jesus’ Name, Amen.” (from Renee Swope’s devo, The Comparison Trap)

Let us always Pray for others, do His will (your job), stay watchful!

Leave a Reply

