Let Us Do Good

Galatians 6:10 (KJV)
As we have therefore opportunity, let us do good unto all men, especially unto them who are of the household of faith.

 

I love this quote because it really speaks to how we ought to live if we are truly to be His followers:

 

“So seize any opportunity the Lord gives you to do good things and be a blessing to everyone, especially those within our faithful family. Following in the path of the Spirit is not a chore; instead it opens us up to experiencing the life God has for us.”

 

Talk about powerful. In this one verse there is: restoration, bearing the burdens of others,  the importance of humility, communication, sowing and reaping, the value in remaining strong in Him. Are not so many of these clearly aligned with those Fruits of the Spirit we believers are to be known by?  What would it look like if every one of us, lived exactly what this says, every moment of our lives? 

 

Restoration is all about bringing something back to its original form. Being born again – being brought back into fellowship with God – able to once again walk and talk and speak and share with Him. Bearing one another’s burdens – reaching out; going beyond self -do we should and offer that  support, compassion, and love when we see there is a need? Bearing my own burdens – I read once that anyonce can wear the cross but only some can truly bear the cross. And what about preaching the Gospel that we have been so blessed to receive? We shall reap what we sow – and each one of us is in a special place with a special job to do. Are we doing it? Are we filed with joy, willing and eager to be the one who plants, or waters; so often it seems we plant the seed but we never see any growth. Can we trust God and continue to plant, not becoming weary of our task? We are to stay strong and do good – He is our strength; joy in Him  – Do we have enough?

We need to take EVERY opportunity to do good to ALL men, certainly not forsaking the brethen themselves for they too have needs, but we must reach out, outside of the church as well, to ALL. There is so much we can learn, if we reach out.  If we do not hesitate to love and pray with those who perhaps we see as “unworthy”. Reach out to the lost no matter how they make you feel; we need not like everyone we meet – in fact we won’t like every one of them – but are we wiling to step outside of our self and show the love of Christ?  Do others see Jesus in me? There is so much work to be done and we need to be ready, willing, and able to be an active participant in it. Whatever the call may be! 

 

 

 

 

P: Jesus I thank you for your love, every day I am truly amazed that you chose me; that you reached up and pulled me out of that dark place I was in for so very long! Lord I know and see my weakness in this, I fall short so many times when it comes to taking time to reach out.  Help me to remember and be willing even when these opportunities come at a time that I see as “not planned”. Please help me to strengthen myself daily spending more and more time in your Word and in prayer. Help me not to look at the outward appearance, but to see others as they were created and are loved by you. Jesus, you died for each and every one of us and you wish for none to perish. As opportunities come, as people have needs, send them Lord and help me to be one who shows your light, in my community and home;  help me to share with those who do not know, the miracles you performed in your Word and in the world today.  Lord, I pray for each individual who reads this, and for those studying and seeking you, around the world.  May there be an ever greater hunger, an unquenchable thrist, which allows your chosen ones, to  make a huge impact for you ~ Reaping many souls for your glory and for great joy!   In the name of Jesus I pray, Amen.  ❤ 

Leave a Reply

