All in Common

Acts 4:32 And the multitude of them that believed were of one heart and of one soul; neither said any of them that ought of the things which he possessed was his own; but they had all things in common.

 

ALL Things, ONE heart, ONE soul, In Common…..

 

Matthew Henry says of this:


“Though there were many, very many, of different ages, tempers, and conditions, in the world, who perhaps, before they believed, were perfect strangers to one another, yet, when they met in Christ, they were as intimately acquainted as if they had known one another many years. Perhaps they had been of different sects among the Jews, before their conversion, or had had discords upon civil accounts; but now these were all forgotten and laid aside, and they were unanimous in the faith of Christ, and, being all joined to the Lord, they were joined to one another in holy love. This was the blessed fruit of Christ’s dying precept to his disciples, to love one another, and his dying prayer for them, that they all might be one. ”

 

There is such an emphasis here on being ONE. Being together in agreement and love. This simple verse has so many small, powerful words, within. Confirmation of many things…if we dig deep enough and seek earnestly enough.

 

Here is a question for every one of us. Am I willing to give, to share, whatever I have in my possession? Do I truly see all that I am, and all that I have, as a gift from the Lord?  Am I willing to say, “Take what you need?”

HEART CHECK!

 

We ought to desire nothing more than to feel the presence of God so strongly and so fully in every moment of our life. We ought to seek the manifestation of that same Spirit.  Yet in order for this to happen we/I cannot be selfish; we must be willing to pick up our cross and carry it in all times and seasons.

Do we give in all things, as unto the Lord? I read a beautiful commentary on this topic as well:

“Because of their unity, they regarded people more important than things.”

What am I willing to sacrifice? Time? Possessions? Emotion?

All is the Lord’s; I am merely His servant; a steward of those things He has placed within myself, my family and,  my life !  None have any value eternally.

 

If we consider the Jewish Christians living in Jerusalem at this time, they gave up everything when they made their calling sure for Christ. We need to keep the focus on spiritual things, the attitude of one’s heart & one’s soul. As a true community, are we willing to give? Are we willing to fill that hand that is reaching out, with those  blessings that have been bestowed upon us without doing so grudgingly? If we have a unified spirit we will want to share what we have, as we are able, we will desire the opportunities to bless another. We shall be a joyful giver!

 

Let us align our minds and hearts as He sees them.  Consider the heart:


“The heart, not only as the seat of the affections, but as the center of our complex being—physical, moral, spiritual, and intellectual.”

And the soul:


“The word is often used in the New Testament in its original meaning of life, as an emphatic designation of the man himself. See Matt. 12:18; Heb. 10:38; Luke 21:19. So that the word denotes “life in the distinctness of individual existence”

This really adds a greater depth to this verse and to our responsibility as chosen, children of God. If we too, can be believers  *united*  in heart AND soul imagine …. physical, moral, spiritual, intellectual-  united in every way! AMAZING!! Every action was a powerful testimony to Jesus. They gave even when it hurt…. God’s love knows no bounds, shouldn’t ours as well? 

 

My prayer today is simple.  I pray that Lord may make me, and keep me,  always a woman united in body, mind, heart, and soul. May I always put others’ needs before my own. I admit (*hangs head in shame*) that I like to stay in my own comfort zone. I keep to myself, I prefer silence and a good book and I love my personal space (minimal since I am a homeschool momma! ha)  How many opportunities I wonder, have I missed, to share Jesus when I am in my happy place; comfortable? Its not about me, I was not called to comfort, I was not called to self. This is all about eternity, winning souls for Christ…speaking boldly the truth, in love, which has been revealed to me. How much I desire to hear HIM say, “well done, good and faithful servant.” Yet we cannot hear that if we are too busy about our own business. If we are too wrapped up in our self and in the world….

Being a soldier is not an easy thing, there is not a moment that we are not to be alert and ready; prepared to fight, to protect, to honor and defend.  We must be sure of our calling; we must be strong in HIS word – covered in the armor of God always.

Let us be sure ~ who shall we serve this day? Myself?  Heaven? The One True King?

May we always serve the Most High God!  ❤

 

ec1e7-love-one-another

Leave a Reply

