Love Them As Thyself

Matthew 22:37-39 (KJV) Jesus said unto him, Thou shalt love the Lord thy God with all thy heart, the second is like unto it, Thou shalt love thy neighbour as thyself.

 

Love.  It’s such an important thing. Do we show it? How can we show it?

 

“Hear, O Israel: The LORD our God, the LORD is one. Love the LORD your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength” (Deuteronomy 6:5). This is known as the Shema, taken from the first word “hear” in Hebrew. Modern Jews consider the recital of the Shema both evening and morning to be one of their most sacred duties.

 

Jesus gives us the greatest commandment of all when He says we must:  “Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength.”

 

It’s not an option.  If we do not have love …. we are just noise….. If we do not have love….what do we have really? And what use are we for His Kingdom? We MUST love.  Even when its hard. Because He loved us first. Praise God for His love (even when I was so unloveable!)

 

 

It reminds me of the man in Mark 9:24 who asked God to help his unbelief, and it is a reminder that  we too can (and ought to) ask God to help us in areas where we don’t love Him with all our heart, soul, mind, and strength. We should pray regularly for His help in our own unbelief.

 

“Love your neighbor as yourself” this is the expression of our faith in the God we profess to love. We are known by this. We are blessed in this.

 

The traditional “love your neighbor as yourself” can be such a hard concept for us to really get; . I tend to think of it along the lines of the golden rule “do unto others as you would have them do unto you.” But there’s so much more to this verse than that. What if we loved those around us as we love ourselves? What if we were selfish FOR someone, looking out for them, serving them, setting aside our best just for them? This is the very picture of Christ! This is living the gospel! And that’s  why “everything in God’s law and the Prophets hangs” upon this one thing.  It is Christ’s love in action And it is powerful and beautiful ❤

 


Jesus I, thank you for all you have done. Bless you Lord for putting me first, loving me MORE.  If not for that, I could not come before you with thanksgiving and praise and surely there is not one thing I could do in your name and for your Kingdom without you great sacrifice!  Bless you Lord, bless you my Lord. . Today, I ask just this, help me to be selfish for others, to love them as well as I love myself and my own children and husband.   Help me to see and love and reach for those neighbors of mine, loving them as you love them.. Lord show me and help me to love them better and more than before.  All, of course, for your Kingdom and your Glory.

 

 

Leave a Reply

