Ye Have Been Called

Galatians 5:13-14 (KJV) For, brethren, ye have been called unto liberty; only use not liberty for an occasion to the flesh, but by love serve one another. For all the law is fulfilled in one word, even in this; Thou shalt love thy neighbour as thyself.

 

 

Who are the brethren? Brethren are our brothers and sisters; fellow believers.  As Christians we are blessed with great liberty to serve, to walk in the Spirit and not in the flesh. If we love, we fulfill the law. Isn’t that amazing? The law is fulfilled simply by loving the brethren. We’re talking about making a habit here. Obedience to God beings, intentionally, with keeping the first command. If we intentionally practice love, you will easily, joyfully uphold His laws. Out of obedience the fruits will emerge in us.

 

As the song says, “My chains are gone, I’ve been set FREE!”

 

Galatians 5:1 (KJV) Stand fast therefore in the liberty wherewith Christ hath made us free, and be not entangled again with the yoke of bondage.


To love as God has designed us to love, this
is the key. We need to use every opportunity to show God’s love in this dark world,  to our neighbors, sad looking cashier at the store, to friends and family that desperately need to see and feel His love. 

 

Love ~ Showing it, practicing it, the sacrificial kind of love that He showed for us: That is what will keep me free from sin and that is what will keep me strong in the faith and truth.

 

 

 

God has not forced any of us to worship or love or serve. Yet daily there are opportunities presented to me to do His will or to do my own. Will I choose to selfishly serve myself or will I choose to selflessly serve others? (And not choosing is really the same as choosing yourself). What does it look like to love myself in an unselfish way? Do we recognize who our Creator is, do we truly know and appreciate His love for us, and His perfect design ifor your life and mine? And then, we should love our neighbors in the same way – as a beautiful precious creation of God, dearly beloved and so very valuable to the King of Kings.
Today, as I ponder His great creation all about me, as I stand in awe of my Lord and Saviour I thank Jesus for creating me out of His own love; in His image for His great plan, and I thank you Lord for all those that I come into contact with; all those whose lives have been placed in my path.  Lord I ask you to help me to always see them as you do – as your beloved children;. give me a greater desire and burden for them that I may help do your will for the Kingdom of God, for your great glory.

 

Leave a Reply

