Do not Imagine Evil

 

 

Zechariah 7:9-10 (KJV) Thus speaketh the LORD of hosts, saying, Execute true judgment, and shew mercy and compassions every man to his brother: And oppress not the widow, nor the fatherless, the stranger, nor the poor; and let none of you imagine evil against his brother in your heart.

God speaks to His, people a hundred years later, people who had lost their connection with the past. These were descended from Abraham, Moses, David – yet they no longer recognized their own history.  They had forgotten their great God and all He did for them.  Zechariah was determined to wake them up and open their eyes! So he says “Once again, I, the Lord All-Powerful…”  He reminds them of their called, that they are to be just, merciful and kind. In much the same way, so many today have turned their backs on these same commands: kindness, mercy, to the poor, the orphaned, the widowed, that we may show the love of Christ to others!

I love how Jesse Duplantis says: Compassion is a word that we’ve come to think of as “sympathy,” but that’s not what Jesus had for people who were hurting or even living in sin. Sympathy means you just feel sorry for somebody, but compassion means you care for them enough to be motivated to do something for them.

 

If we are truly seeking justice then we are sure to apply the word of God to all things whether they be spiritual, physical, financial, social… Gods word can restore all things, if we have faith, and if we allow HIM to work in and through us. The widows, the fatherless, the poor and the sojourner are often treated unfairly in some way. They are too often taken advantage of. We are told to defend them and help them; in Deuteronomy 27:17 curses are pronounced upon those who are not obedient to the commands given them.  We need to have a heart that is right; we need to be aware and present in every situation.

Do I really understand true justice? “True Justice”:

Justice (n):
2b- (1) the principle or ideal of just dealing or right action; (2) conformity to this principle or ideal: righteousness
2c- the quality of conforming to law

According to Wikipedia, almsgiving involves :giving to others as an act of virtue, materially or in a sense of providing capabilities (e.g. education). In the Apostolic age, Christians were taught that giving “alms” was an expression of love which was first expressed by God to them in that Jesus sacrificed himself as an act of love for the salvation of believers.

This ought to make every one of us examine our heart and the motives behind our actions. From something as simple as praying over our meals… are these prayers empty and rushed like the Israelites’? I admit to times I rush through a prayer; some days as I am chewing my second or third bite even. We need to be able and willing to slow down; we must yield to His Spirit and surrender ALL things (keeping nothing from Him…as if any of it is ours to keep in the first place) and allow Him to fully transform our hearts.

We cannot hold anything back. And this is so very timely too – as we read of those 21 – men willing to die for Christ. Am I as willing to give my very life, my breath, for His name? No hesitation.

As a follower of Christ, let me have that  heart that breaks for the lost, the widowed, the orphans, the homeless…let me be moved to a greater compassion ~  May my faith be seen and not just empty words, rather let all I Do reflect His heart.

 

Jesus I thank you for Your great love and grace! Jesus search my heart, cleanse my heart and help me to FULLY surrender to You. You know my every thought, you hold every tear I cry, you know those deeper details of my heart and soul. Help me to see you everywhere…Help me to show Your mercy, Your compassion, Your Truth.  Lord remind me to slow down and do nothing out of empty motives or selfish ambitious, but in everything let me do as I ought, serving you, to glorify Your name.  ❤

 

Leave a Reply

