Bless them

athiest

 

 

Romans 12:13, 21 (KJV) Distributing to the necessity of saints; given to hospitality. Bless them which persecute you: bless, and curse not…. Be not overcome of evil, but overcome evil with good.

 

Are we truly living for God? Walking in His steps? If so we will be obedient to these words. (hard I know!)

 

“Do all the good you can. By all the means you can. In all the ways you can. In all the places you can. At all the times you can. To all the people you can. As long as ever you can.” ― John Wesley

 

I don’t know about you but there are some it is just so very hard to be kind to. They are unappreciative and rude; sloppy and deceptive. Maybe its just a personality or trait that rubs us the wrong way. We don’t want to be good to them. Some people, I just want to avoid them. Too much emotion , too much drama. And yet we are to be those who are known by the love they show. I think (again) of how the other day I read that we need to be willing to die for those who are our enemies. Could I? Would I?

 

We are known by our fruits. I cannot help but wonder, what fruits do I show?

We need to be intentional and sincere in our pursuit of servanthood, we need to practice hospitality to those in need whether it is a meal, a bit of kindness, or simple fellowship. just being present for another in need.

Hospitality is defined as the friendly reception and treatment of guests, or strangers, in a warm and generous way (Random House Dictionary).

We have to remind ourselves, we are commanded to be hospitable; to receive guests in a friendly, warm, and generous way.

Paul commands us in Hebrews 13:2, referencing Abraham’s hospitality, “Do not neglect to show hospitality to strangers, for by this some have entertained angels without knowing it” (Heb. 13:2). Paul goes on to explain in Romans that we’re not only to be hospitable, but we’re to “practice” hospitality. So, the word “practice” means to seek after eagerly, earnestly endeavor to acquire.  Are we eagerly and diligently seeking out opportunities to be hospitable, rather than just doing what we must to get by?

We ought to strive to be like Abraham who pleaded with three angels (thinking they were men) to stay with him long enough to rest while he washed their feet and fed them, and like Lydia who pleaded with Paul to lodge with her.

 

We are to “hold fast” to what is good (His Word and His ways) seeking to love others and treating them honorably. Seek to “outdo one another in showing honor.” One of the practical ways we can do that is to welcome others into our home and show hospitality. No matter the mess; our homes do not need to be perfect. If we see a way to bless someone, we need to take the initiative….Are we reaching out to meet those needs? — And we must not forget:  We are also called to show love to “our enemy” — the message here is diametrically opposed to what the world will tell advise you to do — Overcome evil with good.

 

Lately I feel so very weary, battle worn…. I have to remind myself I cannot let all that is of this world effect me; this is not my home – I Am just passing through. In the  end, we win! Certainly it’s easy to believe that good is on the losing side of the battle when we are out there; I mean evil is out there, more and more, surrounding us but we cannot allow it to have power over us!

These verses, we need to see them as a playbook or instruction manual: “Rules for Godly Living.” May we always keep our eyes fixed on Jesus, not on the battle, not on the evil…but fixed on His Kingdom. And as we focus on Him, may He use me more and more to show His love to others—to overcome evil with good. 

 

“For the people of God in the Old Testament the duty of hospitality came right from the center of who God was. I am the Lord your God who made a home for you and brought you there with all my might and all my soul. Therefore, you shall love the stranger as yourself. You shall be holy as I am holy (Leviticus 19:1). Your values shall mirror my values. May we be strategically hospitable.  God’s hospitality is motivated by his unwavering commitment to the glory of his own name. “I acted for the sake of my name that it should not be profaned.” Unless we can see this, we will never understand the meaning of grace.”

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

